Audiovisual and music
Use in teaching
Individual academic staff members are responsible for ensuring that all content presented in their digital teaching material is copyright compliant. Copyright law allows limited use of AV material in universities. Not all content that can be used in the classroom can be used in a recorded version of the classroom session. The boundary for legitimate use of content is often clearly drawn between classroom use and online communication, such as via an iLearn subject site.
Classroom/online use:
- Streamed media can be shown in class (face to face or online).
- You can show, but not record, websites that include multimedia content in class. Multimedia material from a website cannot be embedded into any class recording. Provide a link for your students to this material via your subject resources list or in the Collaborate, or Zoom, chat window.
- You can show off-air recordings, including podcasts that originated as broadcasts, in class.
- Commercially produced DVDs or videos may only be shown/played to students in the classroom. This content must be edited out of any recording of the lecture, or class.
- Generally, AV materials cannot be reproduced or communicated without the express permission of the copyright owner.
- Always remember to fully acknowledge the source of the AV material.
- The Warning Notice must be displayed whenever third party material is communicated a PowerPoint presentation, or lecture recording.
YouTube and other video sources
The following online services require more copyright vigilance. Look for content uploaded by the legitimate copyright owner that can be streamed or embedded. Do not download videos to show in class.
YouTube
- YouTube videos can be shown in class for educational purposes as long as they are streamed directly from the YouTube site and the audience is restricted to the staff and students of Bond University.
- You can link to or embed a YouTube video in your iLearn site however you must take care not to embed or link to material that is an illegal copy.
- YouTube material cannot be captured in lecture recordings for Mediasite. The recording must be paused whilst playing YouTube material.
- Do not download a YouTube video to show in class. It is not permitted to download, reproduce, copy or upload to iLearn or another website any YouTube content without first obtaining the permission of YouTube or the copyright holder of the material.
YouTube has Terms of Service that are considered a legally enforceable contract. Always check the terms or conditions of use when accessing a website's content.
Vimeo
Vimeo is another popular video site which grants users a limited, non-exclusive license to access and use the service for personal, non-commercial purposes.
25 Best Free Educational Video Sites
The Moving Image Archive is another excellent source of free movies, films and videos.
Audiovisual content use overview
| Material type | Reformat material | Real-time class use (streaming) | Recorded class use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purchased or hired commercial DVD or video | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ Pause recording when played in class (online or face-to-face). Seek permission directly from copyright holder. |
| Off-air recording from TV or radio, including podcasts under the Screenrights licence | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ Can be recorded and used by staff and students |
| Multimedia content on a website, including YouTube | ✗ | ✓ | ✗ Provide a link. Pause recording when played in class (online or face-to-face). |
 Open Access  Creative Commons licenced works, including certain Ted Talks |
Depends on the licence | ✓ | ✓ Depends on the licence, but usually permitted. If not provide a link. |
Streaming media
The Library's subscriptions to the following resources covers use of the online audiovisual recordings for teaching.
You can stream media from these sources.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
A series of anatomy lessons using unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures.
In the First Person
Contains over 4000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. Includes audio and video files. The index contains diary entries, letter entries, and oral history entries.
Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy Streaming provides video access and delivery to Australian tertiary education institutions with content streamed directly to any computer, iPad or other media device.
TVNews
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Classic Collection
An online collection of videos on social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
ICE Video Library
Streaming video collection of real patients and therapists for faculty, students and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.
EduTV
Documentaries, drama, series and more from Australian free-to-air and pay TV. Contains archives of programs starting from 2006 with up to 80 new programs added weekly.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo. Learn about what you can and can't do with other people’s videos on Vimeo to help you share, rework and reuse legally.
EngageMedia: Social justice and environmental video from the Asia Pacific
EngageMedia content uses Creative Commons licences. Visitors to this site are able to freely copy and redistribute the works as long as it is for non-profit purposes.
Music resources
There are some music sites which allow downloading and even sharing and re-mashing of music files. Always check out the conditions of use on the website before downloading.
Explore these sites which allow the use of music under licences that authorise free music download and enable the artists to promote their music while protecting their rights.
- ccMixter
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want. - digccMixter
Find out why one out of six uploads to digccMixter are used in a YouTube(tm) video, flickr moving image, podcast, compilation album and thousands of other places all over the web.
Use of the music requires attribution. - Free Music ArchiveThis site offers free downloads under Creative Commons and other licences. See the track page to discover what you can and cannot do with each track.
- Freesound
Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, and all sorts of bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Re-formatting restrictions
Copyright law does not allow re-formatting of bought or hired films, videotapes or DVDs by the University without the written permission of the copyright owner.
As an educational institution, Bond University has very limited rights to copy AV material.
Bond University is a signatory to the Screenrights Licence which only covers "off-air" copying strictly from radio or television media. This includes cable and satellite transmissions and podcasts that originated as broadcasts. It does not cover live web-casts or moving images and other sounds sourced from the Internet.
