Skip to main content
Library Website Library Search

Open Access and Scholarly Publishing

Find out about author rights, funder policies and the role of repositories in open access scholarly communication and publishing.

Repositories

e-publications@bond

epublications@bond is an open access repository of research and scholarly output of Bond University staff and students, and historical and archival material about the University. It is indexed by Google Scholar, OAIster and Trove databases/search engines.

Faculty, researchers, and students associated with Bond University are invited to contribute digital materials for long-term preservation and world-wide electronic accessibility.

The Library's Scholarly Publications team offers archiving, copyright, digitisation and research profile services (through Personal Researcher Pages) ensuring Bond authors are well supported to meet the open access publication requirements of research grant funding agencies.

We welcome new academic staff to Bond and invite all researchers to contribute to e- publications@bond. Please contact the Manager, Scholarly Publications and Copyright for further information.

World map of repositories

Repository66

Using Google Maps graphical interface, Repository 66 shows the location of institutional repositories around the world. Description and information are based on the listings of repositories provided by the Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) and The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR).

Repository 66 uses an color circle code to show the different software used (Dspace,  EPrints, BePress, etc.). Clicking on a circle, allows users to finds information about the repository ( URL, the OpenDOAR description, growth, and searching capabilities). It is possible to limit search to the type of platform and country, for example.

Australian services and repositories

  • Research Data Australia  -  Developed by The Australian National Data Service inorder to  promote the availability of research data.
  • Trove  -  National Library of Australia's repository.

Institutional and disciplinary repositories

Open Access repositories are growing worldwide and provide free online access to many scholarly works and outputs such as e-books and e-chapters, journal articles, conference papers and research data.  

Institutional repositories are online collections of the Institutional research outputs. They provide access research material, but also might include teaching materials, documentation of the activities of the institution etc. The majority of institutional repositories are built using open-source software and they are harvested by all the major search engines.

The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR  and Open Access Directory - OAD provide list of institutional repositories as well as subject-based repositories.


Examples of Disciplinary and Subject based repositories include:

Humanities
History Data Service  - From the University of Essex, preserves and promotes the use of digital resources, which result from or support historical research, learning and teaching.

OLAC (Open Language Archives Community) - is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources.

Oxford Text Archive – hosted by Oxford University, develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources.

Social Science
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - promote  social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

RePEc Research Papers in Economics -  is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 75 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics.

Science
PubMed Central - PMC is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive, provide open access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature, with 12 months embargo on some of them.

arXiv.org - Hosted by Cornell University Library, provide open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Personal researcher pages

A special feature of e-publications@bond is a section called Personal Researcher Pages which showcases individual academic staff from every faculty and introduces them to the reader in their capacity as researchers and authors. There are currently over 250 Bond scholars represented in e-publications and each profile has an introduction to the researcher and is accompanied by a selection of their publications, often together with access to a more extensive publication list.

Dissemination of research to students, post-graduates and colleagues couldn’t be easier as each page also offers an RSS feed and an emailing option, so others can keep abreast of the author’s new publications

We welcome new academic staff to Bond and invite all researchers to contribute to e-publications@bond to showcase their scholarly output via a Personal Researcher Page.  Please contact the Manager, Scholarly Publications and Copyright for further information.