Skip to main content
Library Website Library Search

Searching the literature

Find out which resources are best for your literature search. This guide will also tell you abstract and citation databases, repositories and open access tools, how to keep up to date and how to choose a citation management tool.

Reference management tools

RefWorks

RefWorksRefWorks is an online tool, which means your database of references is available to you from any location where you have web access. Bond staff and students can create their free account with their Bond email account and begin working with RefWorks immediately.

EndNote

‚ÄčEndNote allows you to create your own personal database of references, known as an EndNote library.  Your EndNote library provides a way for your to store and manage the references that you gather in the course of your research, and may also be used in conjunction with Microsoft Word, to create in-text citations and bibliographies.

EndNote is already installed on all Bond PCs, but must be installed on any other computers/laptops you'd like to use it on. Please see the information on this page about getting EndNote on your computer.

Mendeley

MendeleyMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Please be aware that Library Services does not provide support for Mendeley.

Zotero

ZoteroZotero is a free desktop software platform and browser add-on for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. A useful feature is the ability to extract bibliographic data directly from many web pages, meaning that adding a reference to your database can be as easy as clicking a button in your browser.

Please be aware that Library Services does not provide support for Zotero.

Which tool is right for me?

Reference management tools allow you to store and manage the references that you gather in the course of your research. All of the reference management tools mentioned on this page share the following common features:

  • Add references manually, or by importing a PDF or a reference from a database
  • Organise your references into groups or folders
  • Share your references with other people
  • Create a reference list in a chosen referencing style
  • Insert in-text references while writing in Microsoft Word in a chosen referencing style

So how do you choose which is right for you? The following table compares the main features of each tool: 

Tool Installation Major Strength Ease of use Cost & Storage Supported by the library
Refworks Web-based, browser add-on and Microsoft Word plug-in Accessible anywhere Easy to use and library provides workshops and individual support Free to Bond students and staff Yes
EndNote Desktop software and web interface (EndNote Web) Desktop software and web interface (EndNote Web) Can be challenging. Library provides workshops and individual support Free to Bond students and staff Yes
Mendeley Desktop software and web-based Good for managing PDFs and has a social network built in Quick to learn with a simple interface Free with 1GB of web space (500 MB personal & 500 MB shared.) Storage upgrades available for a monthly fee No
Zotero Desktop software and browser add-on for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari Simple download of records Quick to learn with a simple interface Free with 300 MB of storage.  Storage upgrades available for a monthly fee No

Remember: if you change your mind at a later date, it easy to export your existing citation library to a new reference management system.