Home
What is Believe it or Not?
"Is it reasonable to believe..." kickstarts the question for the Critical Thinking & Communication essay.
Your faculty librarian can help you navigate to academic, evidence-based articles on your given essay topic. This will assist in finding ideas to build your argument diagram and base your essay arguments on reliable and relevant research.
Individual consultations
Book a 45-minute appointment with your faculty librarian - on campus or online.
Small group workshops
Register for a workshop
Workshops are scheduled for weeks 10 and 11.
In these sessions you will:
- Navigate to and find quality information using Bond's Library Search and selected academic databases
- Find academic research to provide evidence for your arguments
- Use advanced search techniques in academic databases
- Evaluate information using the Currency, Relevancy, Authority, Purpose (CRAP) methods
- Understand why acknowledging information (citing, referencing) to prevent plagiarism is so important
This activity goes towards your Beyond Bond - one of four subjects in the Core Curriculum. After the session please complete the Quizlet and submit to the Beyond Bond team to review.
Academic databases for Bond students
- Library Search
Search for all types of information resources. Most of the library subscriptions are indexed and searchable.
Become an expert user with the Search and find library resources guide.
- Ebsco Databases This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database specialising in academic journals, magazines and newspapers, many with full text and images.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with over 9,000 titles in full text. Covers many subject areas including business and economic, health and medical, criminology, psychology, military, news and world affairs, technology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine (US) which provides access to citations from MEDLINE, PubMed Central and Bookshelf. PubMed includes links to many sites including full text articles.
Includes content that was in the PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset. The subset was discontinued, as of April 2020.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals published by Elsevier covering many subject areas including business, psychology, information technology, and medicine. Subscription access is available to full text articles from January 1995 to date.
Research databases and tools
Full list of online resources the library subscribes to, including trial access.