Skip to main content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Chicago style referencing

This is a brief guide based on The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition.

Book

For books with a single author, give the authors name in the normal order in the notes. Invert the authors name in the bibliography entry (Last name, First name). If needed, include specific page numbers in the notes, but not the bibliography.

For chapters in edited books, the page numbers of the chapter are included in the bibliography – see the section on chapters on the next page for specific details.

Note:

2. Tony Robinson, Tony Robinson’s History of Australia: From New Holland to Neighbours (Camberwell, Vic: Viking, 2011), 11-12.

17. Robinson, Robinson’s History, 22.

Bibliography:

Robinson, Tony. Tony Robinson’s History of Australia: From New Holland to Neighbours. Camberwell, Vic: Viking, 2011.

For books with multiple authors or editors, only the first author’s name is inverted (Last name, First name) in the bibliography and all other authors names are listed in the normal order.

In the notes, the authors names are listed as follows:

Two authors (or editors)

Notes:

2. Verity Burgmann and Jenny Lee, A People’s History of Australia since 1788 (Fitzroy, Vic: McPhee Gribble/Penguin, 1988), 74-77.

Bibliography:

Burgmann, Verity and Jenny Lee. A People’s History of Australia since 1788. Fitzroy, Vic: McPhee Gribble/Penguin, 1988.

Three authors (or editors):

Notes:

13. David John Headon, Joy W. Hooton and David Horne, The Abundant Culture: Meaning and Significance in Everyday Australia (St. Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1995), 21-25.

Bibliography:

Headon, David John, Joy W. Hooton and David Horne. The Abundant Culture: Meaning and Significance in Everyday Australia. St. Leonards, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 1995.

Four or more authors (or editors):

Notes:

7. Baden Offord et al., Inside Australian Culture: Legacies of Enlightenment Values (London: Anthem Press, 2014).

Bibliography:

Offord, Baden, Erika Kerruish, Rob Garbutt, Kristen Pavlovic and Adele Wessell. Inside Australian Culture: Legacies of Enlightenment Values. London: Anthem Press, 2014.

For chapters in edited books, include the author and title details of the chapter in addition to the author and title details of the book. The title of the book should be preceded by the word in.

The page range of the chapter is included in the bibliography reference, but not in the notes.
See 14.111-17.

Note:

3. Maria Chisari, “The History and Values of Australian Citizenship Testing,” in New Voices, New Visions, ed. Catriona Elder and Keith Moore (Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2012), 139.

11. Chisari, “History and Values,” 143.

Bibliography:

Chisari, Maria. “The History and Values of Australian Citizenship Testing.” In New Voices, New Visions, edited by Catriona Elder and Keith Moore, 137-151. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2012.

Books that are downloaded from the library or a bookseller are cited in the same way that printed books are, with the addition of the type of reader included, e.g. Kindle edition, PDF e-book.
See 14.166.

Note:

2. George E. Boxall, History of Australian Bushrangers (Sydney: Cornstalk Publishing Company, 1924), 11-14. Kindle eBook.

Bibliography:

Boxall, George E. History of Australian Bushrangers. Sydney: Cornstalk Publishing Company, 1924. Kindle eBook.

If a version of a printed book has been read online, it is cited in the same way as the printed book, with the addition of DOI or URL to indicate that the online version has been used.
For where to break a long URL, see 14.12.

Notes:

7. Baden Offord, Erika Kerruish and Rob Garbutt, Inside Australian Culture: Legacies of Enlightenment Values (London: Anthem Press, 2014). https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/BOND/detail.action?docID=1753229.

Bibliography:

Offord, Baden, Erika Kerruish and Rob Garbutt. Inside Australian Culture: Legacies of Enlightenment Values. London: Anthem Press, 2014. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/BOND/detail.action?docID=1753229.