Skip to main content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Open Access and Scholarly Publishing

Find out about author rights, funder policies and the role of repositories in open access scholarly communication and publishing.

Find an open access copy

Open Access works are easy to find

Open Access repositories are growing worldwide and provide free online access to many scholarly works and outputs such as e-books and e-chapters, journal articles, conference papers and research data.  

This page provides information about gaining access to open access works in institutional research repositories, extensive subject and discipline repositories and via plug-ins which will search compiled collections of open access articles.  

Bond University's Research Repository

The Bond University Research Portal showcases the scholarly output of the University's researchers.  All academics are invited to enter the details and upload copyright compliant versions of their open access research publications into Pure which provides each researcher with a personal dashboard and a public researcher profile on the Research Portal.    

The Library's Scholarly Publications team offers Pure training and support, open access information and assistance with copyright queries ensuring that Bond authors are well supported to meet the open access publication requirements of research grant funding agencies.

In order to deposit a full-text copy of a work into Pure authors must hold the copyright to that work, or it must be a version of the work allowed by the publisher to be made available in an institution's repository.  See the Author Rights page of this guide for further information, or please contact the Manager, Scholarly Publications and Copyright.

All open access works in Pure display the Open Access (open padlock) symbol and may be accompanied by a Creative Commons licence.

  

OA Plug-ins

Use these sites,or alternatively install these browser extensions or plug-ins, to search for legitimate open access versions of research publications.

  • Open Access Button (OA Button): From the OA Button’s website, you can enter an article’s URL, DOI (a unique identifier), title, or other information to check for free and legal open access versions. The OA Button also offers Chrome and Firefox extensions. Once installed, these extensions will automatically search for an open access copy. When an open access copy is not found, the OA Button can enable contact with the author.
  • Unpaywall: You can either directly search Unpaywall’s database of millions of open access articles by entering the DOI for an article, or (more easily) install the Chrome/Firefox browser extension, which will point you to any open access versions of paywalled articles you come across online.

Institutional and disciplinary repositories

Institutional repositories are online collections of the Institutional research outputs. They provide access research material, but also might include teaching materials, documentation of the activities of the institution etc. The majority of institutional repositories are built using open-source software and they are harvested by all the major search engines.

The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR  and Open Access Directory - OAD provide list of institutional repositories as well as subject-based repositories.


Examples of Disciplinary and Subject based repositories include:

Humanities
History Data Service  - From the University of Essex, preserves and promotes the use of digital resources, which result from or support historical research, learning and teaching.

OLAC (Open Language Archives Community) - is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources.

Oxford Text Archive – hosted by Oxford University, develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources.

Social Science
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - promote  social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

RePEc Research Papers in Economics -  is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 75 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics.

Science
PubMed Central - PMC is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive, provide open access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature, with 12 months embargo on some of them.

BioRxiv - (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.

arXiv.org - Hosted by Cornell University Library, provide open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Australian services and repositories

  • Research Data Australia  -  Developed by The Australian National Data Service inorder to  promote the availability of research data.
  • Trove  -  National Library of Australia's repository.

World map of repositories

Repository66

Using Google Maps graphical interface, Repository 66 shows the location of institutional repositories around the world. Description and information are based on the listings of repositories provided by the Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) and The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR).

Repository 66 uses an color circle code to show the different software used (Dspace,  EPrints, BePress, etc.). Clicking on a circle, allows users to finds information about the repository ( URL, the OpenDOAR description, growth, and searching capabilities). It is possible to limit search to the type of platform and country, for example.