Journal articles

Start with these databases

MEDLINE is an important database for all areas in the health sciences. At Bond you can search MEDLINE via PubMed or Ovid. You should definitely search either PubMed or Ovid (you only need to search one or the other).

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a freely available website which lets you search the MEDLINE database plus other content.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Search MEDLINE via the Ovid platform.
Embase This link opens in a new window
One of the two largest databases covering all areas of the health sciences (PubMed/Medline is the other).
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
A key academic database in the area of chemistry. See access details below.
How do I get an account?
To register, please email the faculty librarian for the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine using your Bond email address and request the url required for self registration. A bond.edu.au address must be used in the registration process.

Registration must be completed on campus.

Once a user has received their individual SciFinder username and password by email after completion of the registration process, this is used to access SciFinder directly.

Additional databases

Informit Health Collection This link opens in a new window
A database covering all areas of the health sciences, with a focus on Australian content.
ProQuest Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
A large academic health database covering materials not found in other databases. Useful as a supplement to the other databases listed.

Library Search
Search for all types of information resources. Most of the library subscriptions are indexed and searchable.

Become an expert user with the Search and find library resources guide.

Research databases and tools

There are many more specialised databases available, eg. PsycInfo for psychology, ERIC for education etc. For the full list of databases/electronic resources available, visit the research databases and tools list.

Browse the A-Z list

You might also find the other Library Research Guides helpful for suggesting databases in other fields of study. Your faculty librarian can also help you choose databases to search.

Information tools and apps
An A-Z list - filter and keyword search to find tools to suit your needs. The list includes data analysis, content creation, reference management and artificial intelligence tools.

Full text access

Use the database links from the Library's guides or Library Search to streamline authenticated access to full-text content. If you find an article online without the full text, type the title of the article in Library Search (or in the box on the Library's homepage):

If the article is available, click the 'available online' link to access the full text.
If the article details appear but the full text of the article is not available, request the article with the 'get it for me' link. Bond Library will request the article from another library for you. Digital copies usually are supplied within 24 hours.
If you aren't able to request the article through Library Search, place the request via the blank request form.

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that checks the Library's subscriptions for full-text access to articles, as you browse the web. It works with websites such as Wikipedia, Google Scholar and PubMed.

This extension can save you time by bypassing the need to check Library Search for full-text articles.

Peer-reviewed?

To find out if a particular journal is peer-reviewed, use the UlrichsWeb database.

Search for the journal by title or ISSN. If the journal is peer-reviewed, a small 'referee' symbol will be listed against the journal, e.g.:

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb.com is the global authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types including:
- academic and scholarly journals
- open access publications
- peer-reviewed titles
- popular magazines
- newspapers and newsletters

Chemistry database - SciFinder

SciFinder is the ‘world’s largest and most reliable source of chemistry and related scientific information.

SciFinder lets you find chemistry journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and theses.

A key feature of SciFinder is the ability to search by chemical structure and find reactions, synthesis information, papers and more. SciFinder provides excellent training materials.

For access to SciFinder please contact an HSM faculty librarian to request the registration link. Once you have registered, access SciFinder at https://scifinder.cas.org.

Biomedical sciences