Fiction - short stories
General
Will Not Forget Both Laughter and Tears
This collection of short stories and a novella will interest scholars and students of Translation Studies, Japanese Studies, and Women's Studies, as well all of those who are interested in this genre.
Asleep Awake Asleep
The thirty-nine stories in Asleep Awake Asleep can be read as a hand-drawn narrative map, charting the course of a country's turbulent history.
All That Work and Still No Boys
In All That Work and Still No Boys, Kathryn Ma exposes the deepest fears and longings that we mask in family life and observes the long shadows cast by history and displacement.
The Time the Waters Rose
Writer Paul Ruffin celebrates the mysteries of the sea in the short story collection The Time the Waters Rose.
American Fiction
Desert Gothic
This powerful debut collection, set in the light-filled deserts of Nevada and Arizona, introduces a darkly inventive new voice.
Winter Money
The ten stories in Winter Money are set in rural Kentucky and West Virginia, in dim horse racing and river towns.
Out of the Mountains
Meredith Sue Willis’s Out of the Mountains is a collection of thirteen short stories set in contemporary Appalachia.
New Stories from the Midwest
New Stories from the Midwest presents a collection of stories that celebrate an American region too often ignored in discussions about distinctive regional literature.
The Imaginary Lives of Mechanical Men
The mechanical men in these stories--Industrial Age holdovers, outsiders wanting for relevance and respect, or overwhelmed people who confuse the certainties of one reality with the doubts of another--are cut off in some way from contemporary culture.
Shadow Distance
Author of The Heirs of Columbus, Hotline Healers, Interior Landscapes, Crossbloods, and numerous other works, Gerald Vizenor is one of the century's most important and prolific Native American writers.
Women's fiction
Monday or Tuesday
A stylistically innovative volume of short stories from the groundbreaking author of Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse, and Orlando.
Nineteenth-Century Short Stories by Women
This anthology brings together twenty-eight lively and readable short stories by nineteenth-century women writers, including gothic tales to romances, detective fiction and ghost stories.
Coming of age stories
The Deaf Heart: A Novel
Told through a series of quirky, irreverent short stories and letters home during the early 1980s, The Deaf Heart chronicles a year in the life of Dempsey "Max" McCall, a Deaf biomedical photography resident at a teaching hospital on the island of Galveston, Texas.
The Dance Boots
In this stirring collection of linked stories, Linda LeGarde Grover portrays an Ojibwe community struggling to follow traditional ways of life in the face of a relentlessly changing world.
Silent Retreats
Caught in the muddle of modern life, eyes gazing at the middle distance, the characters in Silent Retreats search, down roads paved by custom and dotted by the absurd, for escape, refuge, or, at least, merciful diversion.
Anthologies
The Caine Prize for African Writing 2013
The shortlisted stories for the 2013 Caine Prize - Africa's leading literary prize - offer five arresting, diverse, provocative snapshots of a continent and its descendants captured at a time of accelerating change.
Maeve Binchy's Treasury
This collection from Australia and around the world gives us stories that are sad and happy, thoughtful and humorous, but always abounding with the author's trade mark generosity of spirit.
Copenhagen Tales
From the narrow twisting streets of the old town centre to the shady docklands, this rich anthology captures the essence of Copenhagen and its many faces.
The Anthem Guide to Short Fiction
‘The Anthem Guide to Short Fiction’ contains 20 classic short stories by well-known and respected authors, some of which are rarely anthologized in the contemporary publishing market.
The Story until Now
Kit Reed's self-described "transgenred" fiction is confirmation of an "extraordinary talent" (The Financial Times). The range and complexity of her work speaks for itself in The Story Until Now.
LGBTQIA+ stories
Desire High Heels Red Wine
Sweet, seductive, dark and illegal; this is Desire, High Heels, Red Wine, a collection by four gay and lesbian writers.
Gothic / Horror
The Complete Short Stories
Surreal tales of suspense and imagination from an American master The Complete Short Stories is the ultimate collection of Edgar Allan Poe’s tales of the macabre.
Literary
Here until August
A masterful collection of horizons and departures, heartbreak and seduction, from an internationally acclaimed Australian author.
Twice-Told Tales
The stunning collection of short fiction that established Nathaniel Hawthorne as one of the most powerful and provocative artists in nineteenth-century America.
I Love Dollars
In five richly imaginative novellas and a short story, Zhu Wen depicts the violence, chaos, and dark comedy of China in the post-Mao era.
Running Mother and Other Stories
Guo Songfen's short stories are masterful psychological portraits that play with the echoes of history and the nature of identity.
Beyond the City
Conan Doyle departs quite drastically from his male-centric Sherlock Holmes in Beyond the City; it deals with ideas of women's liberation in Victorian England.
Political / Cultural
From the Old Country
Though he lived most of his life in rural South Taiwan, Zhong Lihe spent several years in Manchuria and Peking, moving among an eclectic mix of ethnicities, social classes, and cultures. The first anthology to present his work in English, this volume features two novellas, ten short stories, and four short prose works.
White Gods Black Demons
In these ten sharply polished stories, Mandishona explores the dark comedy that lies just beneath the surface of tragedy in Zimbabwean society in the last decade.
Migrations: New short fiction from Africa
The stories explore true and alternative African culture through a competition on the theme of Migration.
Vidokoni: Folktales from Mzimba, Malawi
This book makes a rare contribution towards the preservation and promotion of ukhaliro wa bene Malawi (Malawian culture) that is fast waning.
Psychological
The Conference on Beautiful Moments
Through an extraordinarily vivid and variegated set of characters, The Conference on Beautiful Moments, Burgin's sixth collection of stories, continues his daringly dark yet often humorous exploration of these themes, as well as our mysterious quest for truth, success, and identity.
Bull
In Bull, Mark Sinnett's first collection of stories, daily life is overwhelmed — pushed to the brink by the complexity and breakneck pace of all the data flooding in.
The Stolen Girl and other stories: Seven psychoanalytical tales
The Stolen Girl is a collection of seven tales written in the genre of short stories. The narratives are fictionised accounts based on the author's work as an analyst.