Research databases and tools
-
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Includes over 500 newspapers and magazines in cover-to-cover format. It has international newspapers in more than 60 languages.
-
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest local, regional and national news from leading news sources:
- Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand
- News Limited
- Australian Broadcasting Corporation
- APP newswires
-
G. R. BerridgeAn excellent web-site compiled by one of the leading figures in Diplomatic Studies.
-
FSJ ArchiveThe FSJ is a monthly publication that contains essays and opinion pieces by active and retired diplomats.
-
The ConversationCurated by professional editors, The Conversation offers informed commentary and debate on the issues affection our world. Plus a Plain English guide to the latest developments and discoveries from the university and research sector.
-
The EconomistThe Economist is a British weekly newspaper printed in demitab format and published digitally. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture.
-
Lowy InstituteThe Lowy Institute is an Australian think tank with a global outlook. Our research interests are as broad as Australia’s interests, and we host distinguished speakers from around the globe on foreign policy, defence, politics, aid and development, journalism, sport, science and the arts.
-
Clingendael: Netherlands Institute of International RelationsTop site for academic/practitioner scholarship on diplomacy.
-
Institute for Cultural DiplomacyThe major objectives of the ICD are to extend current research, programs and practices in the field of cultural diplomacy and create a platform to promote and sustain intercultural dialogue at all levels. The ICD actively encourages and supports cultural diplomacy as an academic discipline.
-
Australian Institute of International AffairsThe Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) is an independent, non-profit organisation promoting interest in and understanding of international affairs in Australia.
-
Council on Foreign RelationsThe Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an U.S independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank and publisher.
-
Foreign Policy CentreThe Foreign Policy Centre (FPC) is an outward-looking, non-partisan international affairs think tank based in the UK.
-
International Monetary FundFacilitates international trade. IMF Home page with Links to News, About the IMF, Fund Rates, IMF Publications, What's New, Standards and Codes, Country Information and featured topics.
-
OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
-
The Open Budget - data.gov.auThe Open Budget uses line item data from the Portfolio Budget Statements to present an interactive way to browse the expenses of government sector organisations.
-
United NationsThe United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945.
-
The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs ResourcesAn internet directory with links to sources of information and analysis in international and global studies topics.
Industry reports and statistics
-
The European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)An independent and non-profit policy research think tank dedicated to trade policy and other international economic policy issues of importance to Europe.
-
The Political Economy Research Institute (PERI)An independent unit of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, with close ties to the Department of Economics.
-
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global company performance, industry and marketing insights and country demographical data.
-
Human development reports - United National Development Programme
These reports provide statistics on economic development and the quality of life around the world. -
NationMaster
Database provides population and economic statistics on various countries and generates graphs from the statistical data. Includes country profiles covering geography, military, economics, international relations. Data is compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD ... -
OECD International Development Statistics
The international development statistics provide comprehensive data on the volume, origin and types of foreign aid and other resource flows from donor countries to recipient countries. It also provides comparative data on gender equality. -
Asian Development Bank : Data and statistics
Data and statistical analysis in the Asia and Pacific region contribute to knowledge generation in ADB, helping strengthen its institutional priorities and operational effectiveness in its developing member economies. -
UNdata
Includes 27 UN statistical databases covering all countries and areas and selected series from more specialized international data sources. Includes data for development, energy, environment, food & agriculture, gender, health, finance, industry, population, trade, key indicators, and others -
UNESCO Institute for statisticsGlobal and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.
-
World Bank Open Data
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. -
World Development Indicators (WD1) & Global Development Finance (GDF) Online
Annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes approximately 800 indicators in 87 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The tables cover 152 economies and 14 country groups-with basic indicators for a further 55 economies.
-
World economic outlook databasesThe WEO database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise. Selected series that are available in the WEO publication are now available on this website.
-
World Health Organisations (WHO) - data and statisticsHealth data and statistics
International relations
