Evidence-based practice
What is evidence-based practice?
Evidence-based practice (EBP) in psychology involves integrating the best available research with clinical expertise and patient values to provide the highest quality of care. This approach ensures that psychological treatments and interventions are grounded in scientific evidence, enhancing their effectiveness and reliability.
Practitioners use EBP to make informed decisions about assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, tailoring their methods to the unique needs of each client. By continually updating their knowledge and skills based on the latest research findings, psychologists can offer interventions that are both effective and responsive to the evolving landscape of mental health care.
Clinical practice tools
Clinical practice tools are resources designed to assist healthcare professionals in making informed decisions about patient care. These tools include guidelines, checklists, and decision aids based on the best available evidence, helping to ensure consistent and effective treatment across various clinical settings. They are essential for improving the quality and efficiency of healthcare delivery.
- Cochrane Library
A valuable resource for evidence-based practice in psychology. It provides access to a vast collection of systematic reviews and meta-analyses that summarise the best available research on various psychological interventions and treatments. These reviews are rigorously conducted and regularly updated, ensuring that practitioners have access to the most current and reliable evidence. - Trip Pro
Trip Pro is an advanced version of the Trip Medical Database, designed to help healthcare professionals, including psychologists, quickly find high-quality research evidence to support their practice. Access a vast collection of systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and randomised controlled trials (RCTs) essential for evidence-based practice.
Evidence portals
Evidence portals are user-friendly websites that present research findings in an accessible format for policymakers and practitioners. They highlight the best available evidence on effective interventions and link to the original research, making it easier for users to apply this information in real-world settings.
- Case Western Reserve University, Center for Evidence-Based Practices
The CEBP provides technical assistance to behavioural healthcare organisations committed to improving outcomes and quality of life for people with mental illness, addiction, or co-occurring mental illness and substance use disorders. They work cooperatively to help organisations implement and integrate Assertive Community Treatment, Substance Abuse and Mental Illness, and Motivational Interviewing. - Evidence-based Behavioral Practice
The Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice (EBBP) provides training resources to help professionals learn, teach, and implement evidence-based behavioural practices. EBBP offers a range of online training modules covering topics such as systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, critical appraisal, and shared decision-making. These resources are designed to enhance practitioners' skills in evaluating and applying research findings to improve health outcomes. - Human Services Research Institute (HSRI)
The HSRI is dedicated to improving the quality of human services through research, evaluation, and data analysis. HSRI's work spans various areas, including behavioural health, aging and disabilities, child and family services, housing and homelessness, and population health. The HSRI uses EBP's and data-driven strategies to develop policies and infrastructure that promote meaningful outcomes. - National Implementation Research Network (NIRN)
The NIRN focuses on using the science and practice of implementation to address real-world challenges. Their work spans various sectors, including child welfare, K-12 education, early childhood, and public health. NIRN provides a wealth of resources, including practical tools and guides derived from rigorous research, to help organisations and practitioners enhance their implementation efforts. - SAMHSA
SAMHSA is committed to improving prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders. The Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. - California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
The mission of the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) is to advance the effective implementation of evidence-based practices for children and families involved with the child welfare system.
Systematic reviews
- Campbell Systematic Reviews
A collection of Social Welfare systematic reviews. - EPPI Centre Knowledge Library
An index of systematic review topics.