Research databases & tools
Finding journal articles
You can use Library Search to search for journals and articles, but you may also like to use a research database to search within dedicated psychology collections. See the Research Databases & Tools page in Library Search for a full list of databases suitable for psychology and counselling.
Recommended psychology databases
- PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a comprehensive database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) that provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed literature in psychology and related fields. It covers a wide range of content, including journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, making it an essential resource for researchers and practitioners in the behavioural and social sciences.
View the Ovid PsycINFO quick reference guide to learn how to search on this platform. A more comprehensive guide, including search fields, is available on the APA PsycINFO Database guide.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL is an authoritative source for allied health professions, including psychology. It contains a vast collection of journals that are peer-reviewed and open-access. It covers a wide range of psychology topics, including emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry, and mental processes.
View the Ebsco CINAHL Advanced Search Tutorial to learn how to search on this platform.
- ScienceDirect
The psychology collection on ScienceDirect includes a wide range of topics, such as cognitive, developmental, clinical, and social psychology as well as neuroscience. It features high-quality journals, books, book chapters, and interdisciplinary research with related fields such as psychiatry, behavioural sciences and education.
View the ScienceDirect User's Quick Start Guide to learn how to search for literature on this platform. See the ScienceDirect Query Tips guide for information on boolean searching and field codes.
- Psychiatry Online
Provides diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, and research information, including the DSM Library and selected APA journals and books. Bond University does not subscribe to all content on Psychiatry Online.
For technical issues, please see the Psychiatry Online help resources page. Please note that Bond University does not subscribe to all content on Psychiatry Online.
- Embase
Embase is a comprehensive research database covering biomedical literature, including psychology. Includes a wide range of psychology-related topics from clinical psychology and psychiatry to behavioural sciences and mental health.
View the Quick User Guide to learn how to search and retrieve relevant literature using Embase.
- Medline
Medline is a premier bibliographic database covering life sciences and biomedical literature, including psychology. It includes various psychology-related topics, from clinical psychology and psychiatry to behavioural sciences and mental health.
Refer to the Ovid Medline 2024 Database Guide for detailed information about searching Medline on the Ovid platform.