Diversity and language
Diversity
| Term | Meaning or usage |
|---|---|
| Indigenous | (capitalised) used extensively throughout Australia when referring to the Aboriginal and /or Torres Strait Islander peoples of Australia. |
|
Koorie/ Koori/ Gurri/Gooris/ |
These are generic terms used by contemporary Aboriginal people and communities to identify and differentiate themselves from Aboriginal groups from other parts of Australia. Queensland and north-west New South Wales Aboriginal people refer to themselves as Murris. Victoria and southern N.S.W Aboriginal people refer to themselves as Kooris. Goori is usually used by Aboriginal people in northern N.S.W coastal regions. Aboriginal people and communities of South Australia refer to themselves as Nunga, and Nyoongar in southern Western Australia. |
- Art and Object collection (AIATSIS)Search for art and objects reflecting the diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural expression
- Indigenous voices webcasts (State Library of Queensland)Webcasts (mostly in English) showcasing storytelling and talking circle events at the State Library of Queensland.
Read some of the Library's works by Australian Indigenous authors to experience diverse voices.
First Nations voices
Growing up Aboriginal in Australia
What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia? This anthology attempts to showcase as many diverse voices, experiences and stories as possible to answer that question.
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia: Second Edition
A resource for exploring and understanding the lives and cultures of Australia's First Peoples. Presented in a graphic form, it shows a pattern of human activities in space and time.
Guwayu - for all times : a collection of First Nations poems
This uncensored collection features 61 poems from First Nations poets in 12 First Nations languages.
Language
United Nations International year of Indigenous Languages 2019
In 2019 the United Nations partnered with governments, private organisations and community groups to promote Indigenous languages
United Nations General Assembly - Rights of Indigenous peoples
Australian initiatives
The National Indigenous languages report is one of the key achievements of the Australian Government in partnership with AIATSIS.
The Report strengthens the evidence base regarding the use, importance, and state of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages. It identifies the strengths and speaker numbers of Australia's Indigenous languages, as well as the many economic and social benefits gained through the recognition, use and reawakening of those languages. -- https://www.arts.gov.au/what-we-do/indigenous-arts-and-languages/national-indigenous-languages-report (viewed 20 January 2023)
Bond University Library participated in a national effort by Australian libraries to add Austlang language codes to works in our collection that contain Indigenous languages. This is now standard practice for any new resources. The languages are searchable and can be used to filter search results from the Language facet in Library Search.
International Decade of Indigenous Languages 2022–2032
The United Nations has designated a decade to draw attention to the critical status of Indigenous languages around the world. All Australian Indigenous languages are under threat and need ongoing work to be maintained.
The Australian Government's Office for the Arts established the International Decade of Indigenous Languages Directions Group to work in partnership with the Australian Government to develop initiatives. An action plan has been developed.
Selected articles & resources
The Conversation articles:
- AustLang (AIATSIS)Provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages which has been assembled from several referenced sources.
- Works in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages
The collection of Library resources features works with at least a portion in at least one the hundreds of Indigenous languages and dialects in Australia. - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages (State Library of Queensland)Includes an interactive languages map, spoken virtual tour, International Year of Indigenous Languages resources including webinars, videos and exhibitions
- Australian Indigenous language collections (National Library of Australia)A guide to language resources in the NLA. The guide and resources use AustLang classifications.
