Research sources
Key databases
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community historiesShort histories of communities located in Queensland, with a focus on post-colonial history.
- Indigenous Scholars You Should Know - Informit databaseInterviews with Indigenous scholars highlighting emerging methodologies, reflecting upon experiences within academia, and explaining their project ideas.
The diverse fields and varied career stages of the interviewees show the breadth of research being produced by First Nations academics.
- Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements Database This link opens in a new window
Links current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous People and others in Australia and overseas.
- Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) - First PeoplesAPO is an open access evidence platform making public policy research and resources accessible and useable.
- Art and Object collection (AIATSIS)Search for art and objects reflecting the diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural expression
- AustLang (AIATSIS)Provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages which has been assembled from several referenced sources.
- Australian Indigenous law library (AustLII)Search across all resources concerning indigenous legal issues on AustLII, including legislation, case-law, government reports, scholarly research and treaties.
- BlackWords"BlackWords provides access to a vast record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and their publications." -- website
- Indigenous Justice ClearinghouseFind datasets, research centres, programs, projects and publications (research briefs and initiatives papers)
- Informit This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the Indigenous Collection - a broad scope of scholarship related to Indigenous culture, health, human geography in Australia, New Zealand and beyond. And the Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS)
- Lowitja Institute - ResearchResearch tools, grants, guides, awards, LIt.Search and more
- Mura Collections CatalogueMura is a Ngunnawal word meaning pathway. This catalogue includes books, manuscripts, journals, photographs and audiovisual material.
Please check Library Search to see if we have access, or to request a title you find in this catalogue. - Trove - First Australians
Explore a growing collection of resources that have been catalogued as relevant to First Australian peoples by Trove Partner organisations across Australia.
Multidisplinary databases
Wiley’s NAIDOC 2023 research collection
"NAIDOC Week is an opportunity for us all to recognise and celebrate the incredible history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples – who together make up the oldest continuous living cultures in the world.
Each year for NAIDOC Week, we curate a research collection to celebrate the significant contributions of First Nations people and methodologies across all research fields – free access until 31st July!
Wiley is proud to acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain names and images of people who have died." -- Wiley
- Ebsco Databases This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database specialising in academic journals, magazines and newspapers, many with full text and images.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection includes the complete back runs of over 4500 full text titles. This archive does not include current issues.
Key fields covered include: arts; humanities; sociology; language and literature; film studies; philosophy; international relations; economics; mathematics and statistics; law; psychology; public policy and administration; business; and education titles.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with over 9,000 titles in full-text. Covers many subject areas including business and economic, health and medical, criminology, psychology, military, news and world affairs, technology.
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) Newsstream provides the latest local, regional and national news from leading news sources:
- Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand
- News Limited
- Australian Broadcasting Corporation
- APP newswires
Guides to research & resources
- Australian Indigenous family history (National Library of Australia)The National Library of Australia provides advice on family history resources including births, deaths and marriages; mission and reserve records; military history; newspapers and photographs in its collections.
- First Nations cultures (State Library of Queensland)The State Library of Queensland collects, preserves and shares the documentary heritage of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across the State. This guide highlights collections, exhibitions, family history workshops, language research, and contemporary storytelling.
- Indigenous perspectives & practices : referencing indigenous materialsUniversity of Technology Sydney provides this guide for APA and Harvard styles