Exhibitions and events
Events
- Close the Gap Day3rd Thursday in March, is a day of action for health equality.
- National Sorry DayHeld on 26 May each year to acknowledge and recognise members of the Stolen Generations
- National Reconciliation Week27 May to 3 June annually, this weel recognises the 1967 Referendum and the High Court Mabo decision. It is a week to explore how each of us can contribute to achieving reconciliation in Australia.
- NAIDOCNational Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee is entrusted with making key decisions about NAIDOC Week events on behalf of all First Nations people.
- Indigenous Literacy DayAnnual event in the first week of September. The Indigenous Literacy Foundation invests in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander remote communities to provide the tools and resources they request to shape the direction of their children’s literacy future.
- National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children’s DayOn 4 August, all Australians have the opportunity to show their support for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, as well as learn about the crucial impact that culture, family and community play in the life of every Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander child.
Bond University Library has been a long-time supporter of the Indigenous Literacy Foundation (ILF). If you would like to make a donation please visit our fundraising page on the ILF site.
Cultural discoveries
Local
Corrigan Walk Art Tour
Tracing the evolution of Indigenous art from the traditional Western Desert Movement to the colourful contemporary styles, the Corrigan Walk is now attracting international acclaim. The unique collection features the works of our most celebrated and revered Indigenous artists, including Gloria Petyarre and the late Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri, Sally Gabori and Tommy Watson.
Image: Naata Nungurrayi | Rock Holes Marrapinti
Jellurgal Aboriginal Cultural Centre
Jellurgal Aboriginal Cultural Centre includes a gallery of artworks and a collection of Aboriginal artefacts of everyday life. Tours are also available.
Minjungbul Museum & Cultural Centre
An education centre located in South Tweed Heads, New South Wales. Check their website for times and ticket prices.
Yugambeh Museum
The Museum's website includes language and music resources. Visiting the museum is by appointment only.
1. Peta Hopkins (2007). Tallebudgera beach CC By NC ND (https://flickr.com/photos/petahopkins/1348323359/in/photolist-349vyt-349yKi-34e6sf-jyFFMX)
2. Minjungbal Museum and Cultural Centre
3. BlackfullaLinguist (2019). Ancestor Exhibition at the Yugambeh Museum Language and Heritage Research Centre, beenleigh, QLD. CC BY-SA 4.0 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ancestor_Panels_at_Yugambeh_Museum.jpg
Around Australia
| Location | Description | Institution | |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Gadigal Country Sydney, New South Wales |
First Nations exhibitions of artworks, technologies and cultural material from across Australia | The Australian Museum | Info |
|
Mid North Coast, |
Saltwater Freshwater Festival is an annual event showcasing Aboriginal arts and culture - music, dance, art, local culture, skills, lifestyle and culinary talent. | Saltwater Freshwater Arts Alliance | Website |
|
Ngunnawal and Ngambri Country Canberra, ACT |
Collections and exhibitions of First Nations art. | National Gallery | Info |
|
Naarm Melbourne, Victoria |
Indigenous art exhibitions | National Gallery Victoria (NGV) | Info |
|
Naarm Melbourne, Victoria |
The Koorie Heritage Trust is an Aboriginal-owned and managed not-for-profit organisation to promote, support and celebrate Koorie history and culture. It offers exhibitions, events and cultural education. | Koorie Heritage Trust | Website |
|
Larrakia Country Darwin, Northern Territory |
Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards | Museum and Art Gallery Northern Territory (MAGNT) | View online |
|
Meanjin South Brisbane, Queensland |
Indigenous Australian art, permanent exhibition | The Queensland Art Gallery │Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) | Info |
|
Meanjin Brisbane, Queensland |
The Indigenous art program is located throughout the Outdoor Gallery, transforming Brisbane's streets and laneways into an exhibition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artworks. It includes large-scale banners, light boxes, vitrines and projections. The program is also accompanied by a series of public programs, including walking tours, artist talks, workshops and studio visits. | Brisbane City Council | Info |
|
Mparntwe Alice Springs, Northern Territory |
Aboriginal art. Collections include:
|
Araluen Arts Centre | Info |
|
Naarm Melbourne, Victoria |
"The longest established First Nations theatre company in Australia, Ilbijerri creates, presents and tours powerful and engaging theatre by First Nations artists (...)" -- Ilbijerri website | Ilbijerri Theatre Company | Info |
|
Boorloo Perth, Western Australia |
"The Berndt Museum of Anthropology at The University of Western Australia (UWA) holds one of the most significant collections of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural material in the world, manifesting in art, objects, archives, manuscripts, film and sound and photographic collections." -- website | Berndt Museum | Website |
| Touring |
4th National Indigenous Art Triennial : Ceremony Touring into 2024. Check dates and locations on the website. |
National Gallery of Australia | Info |
|
Quinkan Country Laura, Queensland |
Laura Quinkan Indigenous Dance Festival is Australia’s longest-running cultural festival established in the 1980’s. Dance troupes from across Cape York and the Torres Strait gather in the small community of Laura to showcase stories through dance routines and sharing history. The area is also famous for tours of rock art sites. Check website for dates. |
Ang Gnarra Corporation | Website |
When travelling around Australia, look out for local Visitor Information Centres. They often have local history displays and information about sites to visit in the vicinity.
In Queensland, there are also several Indigenous Knowledge Centres operated by Indigenous Shire Councils, with the assistance of the Library Board of Queensland. These centres coordinate activities and programs that support local languages including recordings, workshops and events.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this library guide may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.
