Communication and culture
Recommended databases
Library Search
A good place to start your research. From here you can access books, DVDs, journal articles, newspaper articles and other types of resources.
Background Research
Search for one keyword/concept at a time in these online encyclopedias.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Provides access to 100 reference books in a range of subjects.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Contains over 250 reference works including key titles in the Oxford Companions series.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowUseful for background information on a topic
Multidisciplinary databases
Use keywords or your Boolean search string to find books and journal articles in these databases.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database with over 9,000 titles in full text. Covers many subject areas including business and economic, health and medical, criminology, psychology, military, news and world affairs, technology.
- Informit This link opens in a new window Informit provides access to full content from a range of Australian and Asia-Pacific journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window Includes the complete back runs of over 4500 full text titles. This archive does not include current issues.
- Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window Full text access to research journals covering the social sciences and humanities collection, science and technology collection, medical and fresh collections, expert opinion journals and expert review journals.Access is available from 1997.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Full text from journals covering the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full text access is from 1 January, 1997 to date.
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary database of Oxford University Press (OUP) journals. The subscription includes all issues from January, 1996.
- Google Scholar Go to Settings - Library Links and search for Bond University to access resources available through our subscriptions
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Database with a wide range of titles on a lending platform. Includes all titles on former EBL and Ebrary platforms.
Themed resources
The Oxford Companion to World War II by ISBN: 9780198604464Publication date: 2002-01-24Reference book containing entries on Nazi Germany, Mao's Communist China
- Library of Congress
US and world historical resources
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Cambridge journals and eBooks. Bond does not have access to all eBook content.
- City of Gold Coast Libraries
Need to read a novel for class? Check to see if you can borrow for free from the public library
- Trove This link opens in a new window
Trove is a discovery service focused on Australia, Australians, and items found in Australian Libraries. It includes:
- Books and journals in Australian libraries
- Digitised newspapers and magazines
- Images
- Maps
- Australian digital theses
Use the category options to limit by resource type.
- Books and journals in Australian libraries
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources
Bond University Library's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Resource collection of physical and digital books, films, television programs and journals. - State Library of Queensland
Search the SLQ catalogue to find QLD history materials. - National Archives of Australia
Defence and war service records
- Australian Public Affairs - Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles from Australian journals and newspapers covering political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.
Bond University College
