Skip to Main Content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Medicine

A guide to the best library resources for Medicine at Bond University.

Journal articles

Start with these databases

MEDLINE is an important database for all areas in the health sciences. At Bond you can search MEDLINE via PubMed or Ovid. You should definitely search either PubMed or Ovid (you only need to search one or the other).

Additional databases

The full list of databases

There are many more specialised databases available, eg. PsycInfo for psychology, ERIC for education etc. For the full list of databases/electronic resources available, visit the Electronic Resources A-Z list. You might also find the other Library Research Guides helpful for suggesting databases in other fields of study. Your Faculty Librarian can also help you choose databases to search.

Get full text of a journal article

Use the database links from the Library's guides to ensure you are authenticated as a Bond user, to access full-text content, where available. If you find an article online without the full text, type the title of the article in LibrarySearch (the box on the Library's homepage):

  • If the article is available, click the 'available online' link to access the full text.
  • If the article details appear but the article is not available, request the article from the 'get it for me' link. Bond Library will request the article from another library for you.
  • If you aren't able to request the article through LibrarySearch, place the request via the blank request form.

 

                            LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that checks the Library's subscriptions for full-text access to articles, as you browse the web. It works with websites such as Wikipedia, Google Scholar and PubMed.

This extension can save you time by bypassing the need to check Library Search for full-text articles. 

Peer reviewed?

To find out if a particular journal is peer-reviewed, use the UlrichsWeb database.

Search for the journal by title or ISSN. If the journal is peer-reviewed, a small 'referee' symbol  will be listed against the journal, e.g.:

Some major medical journals

cover art - New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
Cover art - BMJ (British Medical Journal)
Cover art - Nature (journal)
cover art - Lancet (journal)
Cover art - JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
MJA (Medical Journal of Australia)
cover art - PLOS Medicine (journal)
cover art - Science (journal)

If you want to search the journal literature you'd be best to use one of the databases suggested above. However, if you do want to browse or search a particular journal, above are just some of the many journals relevant for Medicine the Library provides access to.

To find out if the Library subscribes to a particular journal, enter the name of the journal in Library Search. If access is available, Library Search will give you links you can use to go and search/browse the journal.