Academic databases and datasets
Bond University Library's academic database subscriptions are invaluable resources for students and professionals in the field of architecture. This page features a wide array of academic databases and datasets, including architectural databases, multi-disciplinary databases, and open databases & datasets. Key resources such as the Avery Architectural Periodicals, Bloomsbury Architecture Library, and Building Types Online provide comprehensive coverage of journal articles, case studies, architectural drawings, and photographs. This guide serves as a gateway to a wealth of information on architecture, design, city planning, and more, facilitating research and practical design tasks.
Key academic resources
- Avery Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is a comprehensive database that indexes journal articles worldwide on topics related to architecture, design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. - Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a dynamic research tool for architecture and architecture studies, providing cross-searchable access to an expanding range of text, image, and interactive content essential for academics and students. - Building Types Online
Building Types Online comprises the content of selected Birkhäuser manuals and includes case studies, architectural drawings and photographs. The database provides solutions for numerous design tasks in study and practice to facilitate research on building typology and architectural design assignments. Other aspects covered include lighting, acoustics, urban considerations, access types and planning processes.
- Cambridge Core
Cambridge Core is an online platform that provides access to scholarly content published by Cambridge University Press, covering a wide range of disciplines and formats.
- Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on a range of topics including:
- sustainable development
- marketing
- management
- finance
- human resources
- library and information management.
Includes Emerald backfiles from Volume 1, Issue 1 of all journals.
- GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. - JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to scholarly content from various disciplines, such as architecture, and also offers research tools and educational resources. - Oxford Academic
Oxford Academic is Oxford University Press's academic research platform, providing access to over 40,000 books and 500 journals on a diverse range of subjects such as urban planning, design theory, sustainability, and historical context. - ProQuest
ProQuest is a platform for the Art, Design & Architecture Collection and Arts Premium Collection. It covers all aspects of visual arts including architecture. - Sage Journals
Access the SAGE Handbook of Architectural Theory and the Art, Design & Architecture collection. Includes full text journals, niche materials, and streaming video content. - ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website that provides access to a large database of scientific and medical publications from Elsevier and its partners. It offers high-quality journals, books, topics and integrations to support research and scholarship across various disciplines and fields, including architecture and design. - Springer Link
SpringerLink is a platform that provides access to a vast collection of journals, books, and reference works across various disciplines, including architecture. - Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis is a leading academic publisher that offers a wealth of resources for architecture students including peer-reviewed architectural journals, covering topics like design theory, urban planning, sustainability, and historical context. - Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library is a portal to a vast collection of online resources covering various disciplines, including architecture and planning. You can access journals, books, reference works, and databases that will help you with your studies and research.
- Acumen
Acumen practice notes are a collection of online notes that provide guidance and information on various aspects of architectural practice in Australia. - Australian Standards
Bond University students and staff can access Australian Standards on the i2i platform. - National Construction Code of Australia
The web page provides links to download PDF copies of the National Construction Code (NCC), which contains the requirements for all classes of buildings in Australia and its previous editions. The web page also provides information on the adoption dates, amendments, guides, and performance requirements of each edition of the NCC, as well as ABCB standards. - Ibis World
The IBISWORLD Industry Report Architectural Services in Australia contains detailed analysis of architectural services in Australia, including segmentation, markets, major players, overviews and statistics, supply and distribution, key sensitivities, outlook and five years of financial data with ratio analysis. To access, click the link and then type in Architectural Services in the search box.
- archINFORM
This database for international architecture, originally emerging from records of interesting building projects from architecture students, has meanwhile become the largest online database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present. archINFORM includes information over more than 84000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. - Buildings DB
BuildingsDB is an extensive online resource that catalogues information about U.S. buildings. It covers over 1,200 buildings across 119 cities, providing details on architects, dimensions, and other relevant data. Whether you're interested in historical landmarks or contemporary architectural marvels, BuildingsDB offers a wealth of knowledge for enthusiasts and professionals alike. - Cities & Buildings Database
The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Begun in 1995, the collection was conceived as a multi-disciplinary resource for students, faculty, and others in the academic community. They are freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes. - Open Buildings: Archive of the Built Environment
Open Buildings is a large-scale open dataset of building footprints derived from high-resolution satellite imagery, which can support various social good applications. - Pacific Coast Architecture DatabasePCAD includes a range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors. Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images. Bibliographical information, such as magazine and book citations and websites, has also been linked for creators and their partnerships and structures.
- SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia that documents the history of American architecture with peer-reviewed entries on buildings, landscapes, architects, and more. It is a project of the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, providing a comprehensive and interactive resource for architectural research. - Structurae - International Database and Gallery of Structures
Structurae is an online database and gallery of structures and projects related to civil, structural and bridge engineering, as well as the companies, products, persons and literature involved in them. Search by Structure, Method or Function. - WikiArquitectura
WikiArquitectura is a website that provides comprehensive information and images of various architectural works from different periods and regions of the world. - World Buildings Directory Online Database
The World Buildings Directory is a website that showcases the most innovative and ground-breaking architectural and interior design projects from around the world, as well as the festivals and awards that celebrate them.
Architecture