Architectural images
The page lists various architectural image resources, including Digilib, which hosts over 8,000 images related to architecture, art, and design. It features the Digital Archive of Queensland Architecture, offering a comprehensive collection of files and research tools for exploring the region’s architectural history. Collections such as RIBApix and the Cities & Buildings Database provide images from the British Architectural Library and the University of Washington, respectively. The Asian Historical Architecture directory includes over 48,000 photos of 1,684 sites across twenty-three countries, with extensive background information.
Image resources
- Digilib: Architecture Image Library
A collection of digital images related to architecture, art, and design hosted by the University of Queensland Library. It contains over 8,000 images from various sources, such as books, slides, photographs, and drawings. - Digital Archive of Queensland Architecture
A comprehensive collection of audiovisual and textual files, offering insights into the region's architectural history. It provides innovative research tools for customised exploration and features material from various architectural firms and public uploads. - RIBApix
Images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. - University of Washington (Cities & Buildings Database)
The collection at the provided link is a digital archive of the Cities and Buildings Database from the University of Washington, featuring a wide array of images depicting various buildings and city views from different periods and locations around the world. - Asian Historical Architecture
A comprehensive directory of architectural landmarks across various Asian countries, categorized by city and region. View over 48,000 photos of 1,684 sites in twenty-three countries with extensive background information.
- Creative Commons
Search in Creative Commons for images/art/graphic designs across 19 collections, photos from Flickr and even CC0 3D designs. - Pixabay
A repository for outstanding public domain images. - Unsplash
Photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero. This means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission or providing attribution.
- Searching for images in Trove
Over 3.5 million pictures, photos and objects. - World Images
Over 73,000 images organised into nearly 900 topical portfolios. Portfolios are grouped by subject. The entire database is searchable.
- National Archives of Australia
The National Archives of Australia preserves and provides access to significant records related to Australian history, culture, and governance. It houses an extensive collection of documents, photographs, architectural plans, and other materials that chronicle the nation's past. Researchers, historians, and the public can explore these archives to gain insights into Australia's development, events, and people. - National Library of AustraliaThe National Library of Australia houses a rich and varied Pictures collection that focuses on Australian people, places, and events. Comprising photographs, prints, drawings, water colours, cartoons, miniatures, paintings, architectural plans, objects, and sculpture, this collection documents the lives of past and present Australians, as well as the communities and landscapes they inhabit.
- University of Newcastle (Pender Archive)
The Pender Archive consists of 2,562 individual architectural projects and includes many original water colour drawings of private and public buildings across northern NSW. The collection comprises the achievements of three generations of the Pender family as architects in Maitland, spanning 125 years from the 1860s to the 1980s. - New York Public Library
The New York Public Library's architecture collections encompass a vast range of materials covering fine art, decorative arts, architecture, and design history from prehistory through contemporary periods. The collections are internationally renowned, featuring monographs, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, periodicals, and more, with strengths in Western European and American architectural history, and are particularly rich due to the original Astor and Lenox collections. - SAHARA
SAHARA is a digital image archive containing nearly 200,000 images of the built environment, contributed by members of the Society of Architectural Historians. It is accessible to SAH members via JSTOR, where they can also upload and publish new content to the collection using the JSTOR Forum platform. - Library of congress: Historic American buildings/landscapes survey
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Architecture