Skip to Main Content

Copyright & Content You Can Use

Overview

Bond University is committed to ensuring that staff using technology as part of their teaching activities both understand and use appropriate practices to ensure that all uses of copyright material are in compliance with the Australian Copyright Act 1968.

If  used incorrectly there is a potential risk of breaching copyright.

Use of Open Educational Resources and Creative Commons material is recommended.

Material with no copyright issues

The following types of material can be copied and shared:

  • Material in which copyright has expired (is in the Public Domain).

  • Material of which you are the author/copyright owner.

  • Material in which Bond University holds the copyright.

  • The copyright owner has granted you written permission to use their work.

  • Material licensed for Open Access e.g. with a Creative Commons Licence.

 

The Library's subscriptions to electronic resources include use of resources for educational purposes. It is safest to link or embed electronic resources unless it is clear that copies can be made.

Creative Commons Licenced material

Creative Commons provide access to licensed media that you can legally share and reuse for free.

Creative Commons Licenses: The copyright holder keeps copyright but allows people to copy and distribute copyrighted work provided they meet the stipulations in the license.

Material sourced from a Creative Commons or a copyright friendly website can be directly uploaded into iLearn.

Use the Creative Commons licence icon and providie a link back to the source of the material and the licence.

See the Smartcopying site for more practical tips on using CC materials.

Easy guidelines for providing digital resources to your students

Educators can now easily create digital Resource Lists in iLearn.  The vast wealth of digital resources available through the Library Services system and material in databases and copyright compliant internet sites can be selected and seamlessly displayed as a list in iLearn for easy access for educators and students. 
The Library has developed a guide for educators that covers all the steps for creating and managing a Resource List.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning resources that have been openly licensed or are in the public domain, and can be used or reused for free.

OER includes text (either print or digital); audio, video, or multimedia, or various combinations of these, provided that they are openly licensed and free. They can support a single learning point, a lesson, a series of lessons, a whole course, or even an entire programme of study.

Explore and use this sites for Open Education content and resources :

Visit the Smartcopying site which has a useful OER toolkit for teachers, curriculum and elearning developers.

A taste of OER

This OER explores the basic operations of a Sundial. It contains both an activity as well as resources for further exploration. It is a product of the OU Academy of the Lynx, developed in conjunction with the Galileo's World Exhibition at the University of Oklahoma.

Learning Goals

  • Provide a basic 5 minute activity with a Sundial, as well as digital resources for further exploration.

Go to the OER commons Sundials page to see the resources on offer. The summary PDF is available below.

"Sundials" 2015 by userBrent Purkaple
under licence Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International

Copyright Friendly Media

The Library's subscriptions to these resources covers use of the online audiovisual recordings for teaching.

You do not need to request copyright clearance to use the content of these databases.

Restricted AV content Use

YouTube

YouTube videos cannot be recorded, even partially, and placed within a Camtasia video or presentation that will be placed in iLearn.

Place a link to the Youtube selection in iLearn, or where YouTube offers an embed code you can use it to make a link from iLearn, or the educational resource you have created, to that particular recording.  You may need to nominate the times within the YouTube video that is of importance to your class.

YouTube videos cannot be captured in lecture recording for Mediasite.  The Mediasite recording must be paused whilst playing YouTube material.

 DVDs - commercially purchased or hired

Commercially produced DVDs can be shown in class, but they must not be included in a recorded lecture, or Camtasia recording.  The Screenrights licence does not cover any copying of commercially purchased DVDs in the Library collection, or privately owned or hired DVDs.

Lecturers must pause the Mediasite recording process while a DVD is being played in a lecture.

A few points to know:

  • Images in hardcopy form can be copied if they have not been separately published.
  • Images from electronic or web sources can be copied if the terms and conditions of the site allow reuse, or if they are available under a Creative Commons licence.
  • Images should be appropriately attributed.
  • Place the Copyright Notice at the beginning of any PowerPoint or lecture documentation that contains images and is to be placed in iLearn.

Subscribed Image Sources

The following library-subscribed electronic resources include images.

Explore these sites which allow the use of music under licences that authorise free music download and use and enable the artists to promote their music while protecting their rights.

You can place a link to a Prezi presentation, Youtube or Vimeo video in a Resource list in iLearn, or where YouTube offers an embed code you can use it to make a link from the educational resource you have created, to that particular recording. 

  • Don't forget to include a citation
  • You might need to point out a specific time in the video or slide that is important for your class
  • Transcripts or captions are important for students with visual impairments