Legal materials
Find the full-text of a case from a citation
If you have a case citation, you have all the information you need to locate the full text of the decision. To check if you have access to the full text, view the Law: primary sources Library Guide.
Interpreting case law citations
Every case has a legal citation. A reported case might be cited as follows:
Peldan v Anderson (2006) 227 CLR 471
The elements of a reported citation are:
| Attribute | Example | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Case Name | Peldan v Anderson | The parties to the case. There are other formats depending on the nature of the case. |
| Year | 2006 | This is the year the report was published - not necessarily the year of the judgment. |
| Volume number | 227 | The volume of the law report. |
| Law report abbreviation | CLR | This is short for Commonwealth Law Reports, a report series that contains cases decided in the High Court of Australia. |
| Starting page number | 471 | This is the page on which this particular case starts in volume 227 of the CLR. |
Forensic psychology and legal books
Forensic Psychology and Law
Forensic Psychology and Law covers the latest theory, research, and practice in the field and provides thought-provoking discussion of the topics addressed.
The psychology of criminal conduct
Discusses the psychology of criminal behavior, drawing upon general personality, as well as cognitive-behavioral and cognitive social learning perspectives.
Laying down the law
Essential foundation topics covered include Australia's legal system and sources of law while discussion of current issues highlights the context in which our legal system operates and the role and responsibilities of the legal profession.
Legislation
- Lawlex This link opens in a new window
Contains bills and legislation for all Australian jurisdictions. Includes progress of bills, commencement information, governing Act, amendments, history of amendments, gazette reference notices
