Encyclopedias
Legal encyclopedias
'Legal encyclopedias are often a great place to begin researching an unfamiliar area of law. They provide an overview and history of the law, and list key legislation and cases. Legal encyclopedias also provide succinct summaries on the current state of the law and are generally organised by subject.'
- Jay Sanderson, Drossos Stamboulakis and Kim Kelly, A Practical Guide to Legal Research (Thomson Reuters, 5th ed, 2021) 132.
Citing legal encyclopedias in AGLC4
See Rule 7.7 in the AGL4 for rules and examples on how to cite legal encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia sources
Halsbury's Laws of Australia is a comprehensive legal encyclopedia written in a clear, concise form covering all Australian law. Designed to reduce research time dramatically, Halsbury's Laws of Australia provides definitive statements of the law supported by primary authority contained in detailed footnotes. Each topic is written by an expert, then reviewed by a distinguished editorial panel and is intensively checked to give users confidence in its accuracy. Regular updates keep Halsbury's current with changes in the law.
Halsbury's consists of 35 volumes covering 89 subject areas and all nine jurisdictions. To help research, Halsbury's includes a consolidated index and consolidated tables of cases and statutes.
- Video - Halsbury's Laws of AustraliaWatch this short video for an introduction to using Halsbury's Laws of Australia
The Laws of Australia encyclopedia is a complete library of legal principles covering over 320 topics and every Australian jurisdiction.
The Laws of Australia's signature style and structure makes it easy to get acquainted with unfamiliar areas of the law. Each paragraph opens with a bold proposition that encapsulates the relevant legal principle, while the text that follows analyses complexities, nuances and developments in the law. Extensive referencing makes The Laws of Australia the ideal starting point for research on any legal topic, across any Australian jurisdiction.
- Video - The Laws of AustraliaWatch this short video to learn how to search, browse, and navigate The Laws of Australia
Australian Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents
This work contains over 4,000 legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law. Primary subject areas include: Corporations; Sale of Business; Real Property; Family Law; Wills; Intellectual Property; and Employment. Secondary subject areas include the following titles: Sale of Goods; Shipping; Minerals & Energy; Sport; Civil Aviation; Clubs & Societies; Charities; Trusts; Powers of Attorney; and many more. Introductory notes explain the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicate where and when each should be used. Precedents are drafted in plain English, by experienced practitioners in leading law firms and from the bar.
- Video - The Australian Encyclopedia of Forms and PrecedentsWatch this short video for an introduction to using the Australian Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents
Halsbury's laws of Canada is a comprehensive collection that delivers an authoritative, reliable and elegant statement of Canadian law. It covers every proposition of the law. Each volume is divided into alphabetically arranged titles that make it convenient to use and allows for quick and easy research into any topic (Lexis+ Quicklaw).
The Canadian encyclopedic digest provides a comprehensive statement of the law of Ontario and the four western provinces - provincial, federal and common law - as derived from the case law and legislation (Thomson Reuters Westlaw).
- Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is an international online legal research tool providing full text access to case law, statutes, reports, journals and law reviews with a United States of America focus.
- Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of public international and procedural law.
- Encyclopedia of private international lawSheds light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration.
- The Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of academic philosophy.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopædia Britannica online. Not a legal encyclopedia but contains the text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica plus additional articles, images, videos, dictionary entries and more.