Journals and articles
'Journal articles are published more quickly than books and can provide a depth of analysis and opinion that will inform your argument, especially when writing essays at law school, undertaking higher degree research, or preparing detailed policy papers. Articles are often peer reviewed and written by academics or practitioners expert in a particular area of law.'
- Jay Sanderson, Drossos Stamboulakis and Kim Kelly, A Practical Guide to Legal Research (Thomson Reuters, 5th ed, 2021) 140.
Journal articles can be found through searching in a wide range of search engines and databases.
The tables below present some recommended places to find and access law or law related journal articles, and show how to locate articles using each database.
Citing journal articles in AGLC4
See Chapter 5 in the AGL4 for rules and examples on how to cite journal articles.
Law databases
Use the 'Quick links' below to access the databases listed.
Quick links
- Lexis + Australia This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ replaces Lexis Advance from January 2024. Continuing students can use Lexis Advance if required.
Contains Australian law material including CaseBase cases, Unreported Judgments, Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Queensland Reports (QR),College of Law Practice papers and LawNow. LexisNexis Practical Guidance modules are also included. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
Abbreviations
Use the following resources to find the name of a law journal or report from an abbreviation:
Multidisciplinary databases
Use the 'Quick links' below to access the databases listed.
Quick links
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- Ebsco Databases This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- ElgaronlineThe Online Platform for Elgar Publishing.
Search engines and tools
- Bond University Library Search This link opens in a new window
Library Search is the Library's primary search engine - think of it as the Library's Google. To search for journal articles, either type in the name of the article you are after, or type in your keywords to search. Once the search results screen loads, you can use the filter options on the right of the screen to select 'Articles' under 'Content Type'. This will filter your results to just journal articles. Other filters can be added to focus your results, such as 'Peer-reviewed Journals', 'Topic', or 'Creation Date'.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
You can access items held by Bond Library by using the Library Links feature. To set this up:
- Go to Google Scholar
- Click on the 3 horizontal lines on the top left of the page
- Select 'Settings'
- Select 'Library Links'
- Type in 'Bond'
- Tick 'Bond University Library - FindIt@Bond
- Select 'Save'
Your search results will now display a 'FindIt@Bond' link for any articles that can be accessed through our Bond databases. This will prevent you being asked to pay for articles or being blocked by a firewall.
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension which allows instant PDF download of articles from hundreds of scholarly sites, as well as Wikipedia.
Once the LibKey Nomad extension is installed it will automatically search for PDF access from library subscribed electronic resources and Open Access content from Unpaywall. The Download PDF button will appear next to article citations or if full text isn't available an Access Options button will appear which will allow you to request the item from another library.
Use the link below to install the browser extension. After installation, open the extension and choose Bond University from the list of institutions to ensure you get full-text access.
