Books

This book explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students world-wide.

An authoritative and invaluable reference source covering every aspect of the wide-ranging field of linguistics. It spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics. Clear examples and diagrams help to convey the meanings of even the most technical terms.

This new edition of a landmark Companion notably focuses on World Englishes, English language teaching, English as an international language, and the effect of technological advances on the English language.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition offers a user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications. The Encyclopedia is designed for use as a reference tool by students, researchers, teachers and professionals with an interest in SLA.

This book is an accessible and authoritative A-Z that provides up-to-date definitions of over 1,600 current grammatical terms, with hundreds of useful sample sentences and helpful quotations from the scholarly literature. An invaluable guide to all those interested in the English language.

Routledge Introductions to Applied Linguistics is a series of introductory level textbooks covering the core topics in Applied Linguistics, primarily designed for those entering postgraduate studies and language professionals returning to academic study.

Do you want to improve your teaching practice? Do you need to know more about getting the most out of student feedback? This textbook covers all topics in preparing TESOL teachers for the practical component of their program.

This book explores the impact of the spread of English on language teaching and learning. It provides a framework for change in the way English is taught to better reflect global realities and to embrace current research. The book is essential reading for postgraduate researchers, teachers and teacher trainers in TESOL.

Part of the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education series which offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.

This book provides an up-to-date account of current principles and practices for teaching English in the world today. The chapters, written by internationally recognized language teacher educators and TESOL specialists, introduce the reader to key language skill areas (i.e., listening, speaking, reading, writing, pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary) and explain how each skill area can be taught in a principled manner in diverse language learning contexts.

This book builds on foundational methodology for ESL teaching with the very latest understandings of what researchers, national and state departments of education, education associations and school districts across the country say constitutes best practices for emergent bilingual students.

How can linguistics help teachers of English language learners (ELLs) improve their instruction? What specific competencies do ELLs need to build in order to speak, listen, read, and write in a new language? Now revised and expanded with a broader view of literacy, this book has guided thousands of in-service and preservice teachers to understand the processes involved in second-language acquisition and help ELLs succeed.

A one-stop guide providing up-to-date coverage of the central aspects of second language acquisition.