Skip to main content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Research Data Management Toolkit

This guide is designed as an introduction to research data and the management of data for the research community at Bond University.

Sharing data

Why share your data?

Data sharing achieves many important goals for the research community, such as:

  • Reinforcing open scientific inquiry;
  • Encouraging diversity of analysis and opinion;
  • Promoting new research, testing of new or alternative hypotheses and methods of analysis;
  • Supporting studies on data collection methods and measurement;
  • Facilitating education of new researchers;
  • Enabling the exploration of topics not envisioned by the initial investigators;
  • Permitting the creation of new datasets by combining data from multiple sources.

How do you go about sharing data?

Some of the options to consider:

Open access 

Storing your data securely in a repository or data store and providing open access via a link. This option is good if you want to provide the broadest possible access to your data and there are no legal, ethical or commercial barriers to your doing so.

Mediated access

This would involve having other researchers contact you (or someone else that you authorise) directly to arrange access to the data. This option might work for you if you are concerned about the way that your data might be used or if you would like to provide further context that would help someone to interpret the data. This option can also be used in cases where re-use is allowed but requires approval from a project steering group or human ethics committee.

Restricted access

Storing your data securely in a repository or data store and providing controlled access e.g. through use of a password. You might want to consider this option if you can only make your data available to a certain set of people (e.g. those that worked on the project) or there are privacy considerations, but keep in mind that sensitive and confidential data can often be shared ethically if informed consent for data sharing has been given and identities have been anonymised.

Contact researchdata@bond.edu.au if you have data to share or have any queries on data management.

PLoS has released a Data Policy that came into effect on March 1, 2014, in which authors will be required to include a data availability statement in all research articles published by PLOS journals.  See the PLoS site for more details.

See also the information about licensing data.

Data collections in Bond University's Research Portal (Pure)

The Bond University Research Portal describes and holds some interesting data sets.
 
Bond University is committed to the principle of 'Open Access' sharing the results of publicly funded scholarship with the wider community. One way for research staff to share their research outputs is through Pure which displays in the Research Portal. Most types of outputs can be deposited into Pure including research data.
 
Explore Bond University's Data Collections.
 
For Data Collections enquiries contact  Antoinette Cass.

Research Data Australia

Depositing your data in an archive or repository will facilitate its discovery and preservation.

Bond University has data collections described on Research Data Australia. Contact the Manager, Scholarly Publications if you would like to make your data more discoverable, accessible and represented in this national database.

RDA

List of data repositories

There are a number of discipline-specific data repositories as well as institutional repositories and archives where you can deposit data. Some of these are:

For more repositories see:

Research Data Australia and ORCID

Watch this short video on how to import your datasets from Research Data Australia into your ORCID profile.

Open access

Open Access (OA) is free, immediate and permanent online access to the scholarly publication.

OA integrate the same features as traditional scholarly publishing. The main difference is that anyone can read, download, copy, print or link to the publication - free of charge.

There are two primary approaches to Open Access publishing, known as ‘Gold' and 'Green' model. 

Green Self Archiving: Articles are published in subscription-based journals.  This allows authors to self-archive a version of their article for free public use, whether in their own or their institutional repository (e.g. Bond University Research Portal) or an open access website.

Gold Open Access: Publisher makes content openly available to all, immediately upon publication, and without the need for any subscription or purchase. This model usually requires an Article Processing Charge paid by the author or their institution.

There is also a Hybrid model in which not all content is openly accessible. Policies vary.

Authors are encouraged to check Project SHERPA or OAKlist websites for publisher policies. Information about the journals are also available from the Ulrich's periodical directory - use the Advanced Search option to limit to open access journals.

Watch “Open access explained!” - by PhD Comics (2012) video to gain a better understanding of open access publishing.

Contact us

Bond University Library

Scholarly Publishing and Copyright

Email: researchdata@bond.edu.au 

Ask A Librarian

Research Office

Dr Lisa Marlow 
Research Ethics Manager
Phone: +61 7 5595 4194