Skip to Main Content

Storage and backup

Data storage and backup at Bond

Each researcher should ensure their research data is regularly backed-up and stored securely for the life of the project and for the minimum retention period (see table below). Research funding bodies and/or collaborative groups often dictate where research data must be stored, for example in institutional, national and international repositories.

Important storage note:

Many researchers store their data on devices, such as USBs and external hard drives. These types of storage solutions pose a risk of data loss if your data is not backed up.  Storing master copies of digital data on individual desktop or laptop computers is also not recommended.  Treat these as convenient working devices, but not as primary stores.

Protect your intellectual property and comply with the Privacy Act by only using Bond University recommended data storage solutions.

Download the Bond Data Storage Guide below

Cloud storage

Bond University staff and HDR students can use the following cloud services on and off campus.

Bond Research Data Store (Sharepoint)

The Bond Research Data Store is available to all research staff and HDR students for day-to-day and long term data storage.

The Bond Research Data Store allows users and teams to share files and folders with others, both internally and externally. However, sharing data with others poses risks. You need to consider these carefully and make an informed decision about sharing your folders and files with others.

As the Research Data Store is set up to allow academics and HDR students to share folders and files directly, the University does not provide a formal permission process for this to occur. As such, it is important that each researcher considers the ramifications of sharing folders and files with others before doing so. The person who initiates sharing folders and files is responsible for the safe and appropriate sharing of data.

Early advice from a research data advisor, or the Office of Research Services can assist with understanding the many issues to consider.

Cloudstor

CloudStor data storage platform is closing down. From 3 April, 2023 access is read only.

Please consider alternatives regarding your research data storage which can be found here.

LabArchives

LabArchives is an industry standard electronic lab notebook available to all HDR and academic staff to report research. The software can ingest files, text, photos, provides for sharing where appropriate. 

For more information view the LabArchives Tutorials and Information (Secured site).

File formats

File format decisions should ideally be made before you start data collection. Migrating data from an unsuitable format to a more durable and accessible one is usually difficult, expensive and may in some cases be impossible.

File formats can become obsolete for various reasons:

  • Software that supports the format is bought out by a competitor and withdrawn
  • Format falls into disuse or no-one writes software to support/implement it
  • Format is no longer compatible with current software or is not backwards compatible with older software

The result of this obsolescence means that it may no longer be possible to access the file, read the file or reuse the data, either entirely or partially. Risks also emerge for users if the software required resolving the format is restricted or the developer changes licensing or costed use of that software. 

During data collection and analyses, researchers may select specific data formats. Conversion of data into standard interchangeable formats may be necessary for preservation purposes. Open formats such as Rich Text Format (RTF) or Open Document Format (ODF) for preservation purposes. Future access and reuse of data may be affected by changes to proprietary formats, and obsolete software.

Open format examples include:

  • Standard image formats: JPEG 2000, PNG and SVG
  • For text: ASCII, PDF, Open Document Format (ODF) and Office Open XML format (the native format for recent versions of Microsoft Word)
  • For the web: HTML, XHTML, RSS and CSS

Preservation, retention and disposal

Research data and primary materials must be preserved. Researchers need to ensure that their research data is secure and retrievable for long term use.

In general, the minimum recommended period for retention of research data is 5 years from the date of publication. However, in any particular case, the period for which data should be retained should be determined by the specific type of research. For example:

  • Short-term research projects that are for assessment purposes only, retaining research data for 12 months after the completion of the project may be sufficient e.g. research projects completed by students;
  • For most clinical trials, retaining research data for 15 years or more may be necessary;
  • For areas such as gene therapy, research data must be retained permanently (e.g. patient records);
  • If the work has community or heritage value, research data should be kept permanently at this stage, preferably within a national collection.

Researchers should identify the possible retention and disposal requirements for used data and consult the Queensland State Archives. University Sector Retention and Disposal Schedule: QSA09/384 (v3). pp. 36-37. Reproduced below Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Reference Description of records Status Disposal action
601.2/A50 RESEARCH DATA The observation, recording and analysis of research results for research that is owned by the university. Includes readings, results, photographs, outcomes, data sheets, field notes, diagrams, printouts, graphs, conclusions, laboratory notes, transcriptions, clinical records.    
601.3/C148

Research data - clinical trials

Research data created in the conduct of clinical trials

 Temporary Retain for 15 years after completion of clinical research/trial AND 10 years after last patient service provision or medico-legal action.
601.3/C150

Research data - other (does not result in patent)

Research data created in the conduct of research which does not fit into the other categories, which does not result in a patent

 Temporary Retain for 5 years after last action
601.3/C149

Research data - other (results in patent)

Research data created in the conduct of research which does not fit into the other categories, which results in a patent.

 Temporary Retain for 7 years after expiry of patent
601.2/C123

Research data - significant

Research data created in the conduct of a research project, including clinical trials, which is of high public interest or significance to the discipline such that it has or will change a commonly held view or approach irrespective of the field in which the research is conducted. Factors which may determine significance include projects which: • are controversial • are the subject of extensive debate • arouse widespread scientific or other interest • have the potential to cause major adverse impacts on the environment, society or human health • involve eminent researchers • involve the use of major new or innovative techniques.

 Permanent Retain permanently

Other Storage Options

Australian Data Archive (ADA)

You can also contribute datasets to the Australian Data Archive (ADA) for further analysis by researchers.  ADA Data Access information and forms are available.
The Data Repositories List on the Open Access Directory shows the increasing demand for discipline-specific data storage.
 
Some Australian examples of external data storage and collaboration options available to researchers include:
Research data management toolkit