Library Research Guides: Open access resources: Textbooks

About open textbooks

Open access textbooks can provide students with free or low-cost access to quality educational materials, reduce financial barriers to higher education, and promote more equitable learning opportunities. There are many options available for teaching or studying psychology. Browse our open textbook collections and view our featured adaptable texts to discover quality resources for the study of psychology.

Open textbook collections

Bond University Library Open Textbooks Collection
Browse psychology titles from open educational resource databases including OpenStax College, BC Open Textbook Collection and Open Textbook Library.
The Noba Collection
This textbook represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 101 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.
Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks is an open-source book publishing platform that allows authors and publishers to create professional-quality print and digital books, including textbooks, and distribute them in various formats, such as PDF, EPUB, and MOBI. There are currently 191 open access psychology titles.
Open Textbook Library
Browse psychology textbooks on the Open Textbook Library platform. The open textbook library is a digital repository of textbooks that are freely accessible and openly licensed for use by educators and students.
DOAB Directory of Open Access Books
The DOAB directory of open access books is a searchable index of academic peer-reviewed books that have been published under an open access license and are available to read for free online. There are currently 366 psychology books in the collection.

Featured adaptable texts

As education continues to evolve in response to the needs of diverse learners, adaptable textbooks have become an increasingly popular option for instructors and students alike. Here are some examples of featured adaptable textbooks that cater to a variety of educational settings and learners. All are published under a Creative Commons license, which allows adaptation.