Skip to main content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Australian Guide to Legal Citation

This guide will help you understand how to reference in the AGLC style

Bibliographies

Bibliographies

See 1.13
You will not always need to include a bibliography with your assignment. Please check your assignment instructions or check with your lecturer if you are unsure whether a bibliography is required.

 

  • A bibliography appears at the end of a document and lists all sources relied upon (not just those referred to in text and in footnotes)
  • Do not include pinpoint references in a bibliography (Note that the starting page of some sources, such as journal articles and reported cases, forms part of the citation and is separate from the pinpoint)
  • Do not place a full stop at the end of a citation
  • In a bibliography, the author's surname comes before their first name, separated by a comma (if a source has more than one author, only the first author is listed as surname first)
  • Arrange the sources of each section in alphabetical order according to:
    • Case name or legislation title
    • The first listed author's surname
    • The name of the institution (excluding the word 'the')
    • Where there is no author, the first word of the title (excluding the word 'the')
  • A bibliography may be divided into the sections as shown below (you may add/change/remove other categories or subdivisions as relevant/needed):

A  Articles/Books/Reports

Cases

Legislation

Treaties

Other

Example bibliography

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A  Articles/Books

Bedford, Narelle and Monica Taylor, 'Model No More: Querulent Behaviour, Vexatious Litigants and the Vexatious Proceedings Act 2005 (Qld)' (2014) 24(1) Journal of Judicial Administration 46

Boulle, Laurence and Rachael Field, Mediation in Australia (LexisNexis Buttersworths, 2018)

Dal Pont, GE, Equity and Trusts: Commentary and Materials (Lawbook, 7th ed, 2019)

Haas, Ulrich and Deborah Healey (eds), Doping in Sport and the Law (Hart, 2016)

James, Nickolas et al, Business and Company Law (Wiley, 1st ed, 2017)

Kenny, Paul, Michael Blissenden and Sylvia Villios, 'Wine Options of Australian Tax Reform' (2017) 15(1) eJournal of Tax Research 22

Kirby, Michael, 'Judicial Independence and Accountability: An Asia-Pacific Perspective' [2009] (1) LAWASIA Journal 1

Loughlin, Martin, 'Theory and Values in Public Law: An Interpretation' [2005] (Spring) Public Law 48

Ong, Denis, Trusts Law in Australia (Federation Press, 5th ed, 2018)

Patterson, James and Andrew Gross, Judge and Jury (Audiobook, Hachette Audio, 2006)

Sullivan, Alan, 'The World Anti-Doping Code and Contract Law' in Ulrich Haas and Deborah Healey (eds), Doping in Sport and the Law (Hart, 2016) 61

Svantesson, Dan Jerker B and William Van Caenegem, 'Is it Time for an Offence of "Dishonest Algorithmic Manipulation for Electoral Gain"?' (2017) 42(3) Alternative Law Journal 184

Vivian, Alison et al, 'Indigenous Self-Government in the Australian Federation' (2017) 20(1) Australian Indigenous Law Review 215

Walkden-Brown, Jackson, 'Digesting Discourse: How Animal Law Facilitates High Quality Legal Education' (2017) 27(1) Legal Education Review 261

B  Cases

AAT Case 7422 (1991) 22 ATR 3450

Blundell v Queensland Building and Construction Commission [2018] QSC 58

Brown v Tasmania (2017) 261 CLR 328

Moroccanoil Israel Ltd v Aldi Foods Pty Ltd (2017) AIPC ¶92-533

Morris v Morris [1982] 1 NSWLR 61

Palmer v Ayres [2017] HCA 5

R v Schelvis (2016) 263 A Crim R 1

R v Visconti [1982] 2 NSWLR 104

Re Nguyen and Migration Agents Registration Authority [2012] AATA 925

Ross v Chambers (Supreme Court of the Northern Territory, Kriewaldt J, 5 April 1956)

Waddy v Rabba [1982] Qd R 20

C  Legislation

Australian Constitution

Constitution of Queensland 2001 (Qld)

Family Law Act 1975 (Cth)

Right to Information Act 2009 (Qld)

D  Other Legislative Materials

Explanatory Memorandum, Freedom to Marry Bill 2016 (Cth)

Explanatory Notes, Right to Information Bill 2009 (Qld)

Explanatory Statement, Human Rights Bill 2003 (ACT)

High Court Rules 2004 (Cth)

Refugee Protection Bill 2018 (Cth)

Right to Information Bill 2009 (Qld)

Right to Information Regulation 2009 (Qld)

Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld)