Skip to Main Content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Resource list – guide for educators

Step by step instructions for creating and managing Bond University Resource Lists.

Add resources

There are five ways to add resources to your list:

  • Via Library Search
  • From Internet sources
  • Manually
  • From My Collection
  • From Reference Managers

HOW TO: Add resources

There are two ways to add Library Search resources.

  1. From within the Resource List system
  2. From the Library Search interface

Steps

  • Click the ADD RESOURCES + button at the top right of the list
  • Type in your search words

  • Select an item from the list of results, drag and drop the citation into the correct section OR click onto the record, choose where to place it and click ADD

Steps

  • Search for resources in Library Search
  • In the brief results:

    • click ... at top right of the record  to see all the available record actions

    • choose Resource Lists

    • select one of your resource lists

    • select a section in that list

    • click Add to Resource List

  • From the full record display:

    • Go to the Send to section

    • choose Resource Lists

    • select one of your resource lists

    • select a section in that list

    • click Add to Resource List

Steps

Use the Cite It! button to add things you find online to your list. To use the Cite It! button, first add it to your browsers bookmark bar. The button works with Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer. It does not work with Edge.

  • Click on your name in the top right of the reading list
  • Click Cite It!
  • Drag the CITE IT! button into your browsers bookmarks bar

When you find something online you'd like to add to a list, for example, a book you see on Amazon, a report or a YouTube video:

  • Click the Cite It! button
  • Fill in any missing details from the pop-up window
  • Select the list you'd like to add the item to
  • Click ADD & CLOSE

Steps

  • Click the ADD RESOURCES + button at the top right of the screen
  • Select Create Item
  • Drag and drop or browse to the file on your computer
  • Add the details of the items
  • Select a location to add it to - either a section within the list or your collection
  • Click ADD & CLOSE

The library may be able to digitize an uploaded item or provide a permanent link to it in a database.

If you upload a file with third party copyright material, please tick the ‘copyright clearance request’ button.

To delete an uploaded file:

  1. Click ... at the top right of the citation
  2. Select Edit
  3. Click the trash icon
  4. Click Save

Steps

  • Click the ADD RESOURCES + button at the top right of the screen
  • Select Collection
  • Select the citation*
  • Choose which sections to add it to
  • Click ADD

You must have the citation want to add to your list already saved to your 'Collection.'

To save a citation to your Collection, use one of the three methods for adding citations detailed in this section of the guide, and choose Collection as the destination when adding.

Steps

  • Click on your initials on the top right hand corner of the page
  • Open User Settings
  • Specify your reference manager details for Refworks, Zotero, or click through the Mendeley authorization process
  • In your list click the ADD RESOURCES + button to open the sidebar
  • Choose "More" menu
  • Select the reference manager if you have more than one configured
  • Choose the citation you wish to add

An alternative way to use citations from these, or other reference managers is to export citations in RIS format and import them to your list, or My Collection. In a list, use the section ... menu then choose the Import option.

HOW TO: Copy sections between lists

It is possible to copy whole sections from one list to another list:

  1. Click ... at the top right of the section
  2. Click Copy Section
  3. Select the location for the copy to be added
  4. Click Confirm

HOW TO: Copy citations to another section or list

It's also possible to copy citations from one list to another or to other sections within a list:

  1. Click ... at the top right of the citation
  2. Click Copy Citation
  3. Select the location for the copy to be added
  4. Click Confirm

OER - open educational resources

Open resources ensure access for everyone. Find open access books, chapters, articles in Library Search. 

 

Your Faculty Librarian can assist with Resource Lists.

Find your Librarian