News sources
What is available
The Library provides access to news websites, databases, articles, and newspapers.
Some key titles include:
| News Sources - daily | Magazines - fortnightly - monthly |
|---|---|
| Harvard Business Review | |
| The Age | IntheBlack - CPA (Accounting) |
| The Courier-Mail | Koori Mail Koori Mail Online |
| The Australian Financial Review | The New Yorker |
| Sydney Morning Herald | Time |
| The Financial Times print and FT.com online |
Searching for news
To find a specific newspaper (e.g. The Australian), search for the title in Library Search. You can see whether we have the newspaper in print or online. Click on the newspaper title in Library Search and view the 'Get it' or 'View it' sections to see where it's available.
Library Search has a News Articles link - use this feature to find news on a topic from hundreds of news sources.
News articles are excluded from the simple and advanced search. If you need articles, you should use News Articles.
For local news, try selecting one of the featured titles beneath the search box to limit the results before searching.
Or, once you have your results, you can filter using the Library Search facets, including journal title (newspaper), dates and topics.
News databases
In the A-Z list of research databases and tools, choose a news content type to filter the list. Content from these is indexed in Library Search, but searching directly in the databases offers different ways of searching and filtering. These are the three key news databases available.
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest local, regional and national news from leading news sources:
- Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand
- News Limited
- Australian Broadcasting Corporation
- APP newswires
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Includes over 500 newspapers and magazines in cover-to-cover format. It has international newspapers in more than 60 languages.
- TVNews This link opens in a new window
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air tv networks with links to the digitised video content.