Skip to Main Content
Bond University Library Bond University Library Website

Search & Find Library Resources

A guide to discovering and accessing library resources

Journals

What is available?

The Library has an extensive range of online journals together with a print collection. Bond students and staff can access online journals on and off-campus.

The print journals are shelved on levels 3 and 4 of the Main Library, and on level 2 of the Law Library, alongside the books. 

Journals can be found using Library Search.

Library Search can be used to search across the majority of journal content however, some key resources are not indexed and will need to be searched individually. Check out BrowZine for browsing journals in your subject area, see the Browse Journals tab below for more information.

To identify key journals or journal databases in your discipline refer to the relevant library guide. The A-Z electronic resources list is another option for finding these. 

Searching for journals

Screenshot showing the peer-reviewed journals filter in Library Search

When you are searching for information on a topic you can refine your search results to show only articles by selecting the Content Type ‘Article’ or by choosing to show only 'Peer-reviewed Journals'.

Find articles on a topic

 

Screenshot showing Citation Search in the menu of Library SearchWhen you have a citation to a journal article you can search using Citation Search for the authors’ names and the title of the article and perhaps a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). These pieces of information describe the specific article.

Where possible Library Search will link directly to the full text of an article. If the Library does not have full-text available Bond students and staff are able to request them through Library Search. We will attempt to get a copy for you from another library. Digital copies of journal articles are usually supplied within 24 hours.

Print journal articles are not indexed in Library Search, however, you can search for the journal title or ISSN in Library Search to find out whether the correct volume and issue is available as well as the shelf location in the Library.

Find specific article

 

 Tip: If you have a DOI or Pubmed ID (PMID) you can just enter those details and click submit. Library Search will retrieve the rest of the article details for you.

When you want to find a journal (not an article), search for the journal title or ISSN in Library Search or Journals search section of it.

Screenshot of Journal search in Library Search men

If the journal is available online you will see links to the journal and the date ranges available.

FIND JOURNALS

Journal records will also appear in a standard search, but there will be many thousands of additional results. You can use the "Content Type" facet to filter to journals, or the "Peer Reviewed Journals" filter, but that will remove results for journals that are not peer reviewed.

Journal filtering in Library Search results

 

 

 

Screenshot of Browzine landing page

Use BrowZine to browse through journals in your subject area and save journals or articles to your personal bookshelf. 

BrowZine is designed to emulate the experience of reading a print journal. Rather than searching for articles on a topic, BrowZine displays articles in journals by issue. BrowZine is ideal for people who have favourite journals they read regularly.

BrowZine features include:

  • Browsing articles in your favourite journals (including introductions from the editor, research, commentary, reviews, etc.)
  • Save your favourite journals to your own personal virtual bookshelf
  • Export citations to EndNote, Zotero, Mendeley, etc.

BrowZine is also available as an app from the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Start Browsing

 

More information is available in the BrowZine guide.

  • BrowZine
    Last Updated Mar 28, 2022 54 views this year

Using journal databases

Journal databases which index articles have their own search interfaces. These databases are often discipline specific. You can find the links to the Library’s journal databases by searching or browsing the list of electronic resources that the Library subscribes to and open access resources that the Library recommends.

We also highlight recommended databases when you search for specific keywords in Library Search.

Screenshot of recommended databases in Library search

Content on the internet

Open access journals are available for free on the Internet. Most academic journals are not available without payment. The Library’s electronic resources list and Library Search include recommended open access journals as well as the high quality content that is available to Bond students and staff through the Library’s subscriptions. To find quality search results start with the Library’s resources rather than a general search engine and save time.

Google Scholar is an exception to most Internet search engines as it indexes scholarly literature only. If you connect to Google Scholar through this Bond-specific link students and staff will have the added benefit of easy connection through to the Library’s licensed content.

 Tip: Install LibKey Nomad in your browser to make it much easier to get full-text access via the Library when you are viewing content on the Internet.

Related links

Electronic Resources A-Z

Full list of electronic resources the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Unexpected Results

 Check the search scope you are using.

In general searching:

  • Everything
  • Bond Library Resources
  • Textbooks & Subject Resources

or the special scopes

  • Journals
  • News Articles