Save, export and organise resources
Explore features in Library Search, research databases and tools to:
- Save and tag items in your library collection
- Stay up to date by saving searches and setting up email notifications
- Organise resources by exporting citations to a reference manager
Saving and tagging items
Save and tag items in Library Search to help organise and retrieve items easily when you need them.
Library Search
- Sign in to Library Search, enter your keywords and search.
- On the results page, click the pin icon to save items to your collection:
- Click on the pin icon at the top of the page to go to My Collection.
- You can add or remove tags using the pencil icon on each saved item:
Saving searches and email alerts
To help keep current, set up a search alert so that when new resources match your search criteria you will automatically receive an email or update via RSS. You can set up alerts in Library Search and research databases.
Library Search
- Sign in to Library Search, enter your search keywords, filter your results as required (e.g. specific content types) and from the top of the results select the Save this search option.
- Go to My Collection > Saved searches and select one of the alert options:
Create an RSS feed for the search
Enable email notifications for the search
Optionally, if you are interested in find out when new items are added to the library collection, such as books and videos, use the New to the Library facets:
See also, new books in the library for more options.
Research databases and tools
The process of setting up saved search alerts differs between databases. In most cases you just need to look for the RSS logo or the email alerts options. Some of the major databases that allow search alerts include:
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- Ebsco Databases This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowAdd journals to your bookshelf in Browzine to set up email alerts whenever a new issue is published.
Exporting items
You can export references from Library Search, research databases and tools to a reference manager to help organise, store and format citations. Look for the export options in a format such as RIS or to a specific tool such as RefWoks or EndNote Web:
Reference management tools allow you to store and manage the references that you gather in the course of your research. All of the reference management tools mentioned on this page share the following common features:
- Add references manually, or by importing a PDF or a reference from a database
- Organise your references into groups or folders
- Share your references with other people
- Create a reference list in a chosen referencing style
- Insert in-text references while writing in Microsoft Word in a chosen referencing style
Choosing a reference manager
Use this table to compare the reference managers recommended by the Library.
| EndNote | Mendeley | RefWorks | Zotero | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free for Bond staff and students within Bond's licence. |
Free Additional storage provided under Bond's Institutional membership. |
Free for Bond staff and students with Bond's licence. |
Free and open source. Small fee (paid by user) for additional storage. |
| Bond computers |
Installed on student computers. Available for staff from Company Portal. |
Not installed on student computers. Available for staff from Company Portal. |
RefWorks Citations Manager (RCM) is installed on Bond computers for staff and students - for word processing integration |
Not installed on student computers. Available for staff from Company Portal. |
| Desktop or online | Desktop based with an online extension | Desktop and online | Online | Desktop and online |
| Operating systems | Windows, MacOS, Linux, iOS | Windows, MacOS, Linux, iOS | Not applicable. | Windows, MacOS, Linux, iOS, Android |
| Storage | Unlimited |
2 GB (Free version) 100 GB (Bond Institutional Edition) |
100 GB |
300 MB (Free account) 2 GB (Paid options beginning at USD $20/year) |
| Word processing |
Microsoft Word [CWYW] for Windows: 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2021, Office 365 (locally installed desktop version only) Microsoft Word [CWYW] for macOS: 2016, 2019, 2021, Office 365 (locally installed desktop version only) LibreOffice [CWYW] for Windows 4.x, 5.x, 6.x[32-bit] |
Windows - Word 2016, Word 2019, Office 365 MacOS - Word 2016, Word 2019, Office 365 iOS - Microsoft Word for iPad Web Versions - Word Online, Office 365 |
Windows - Word 2010-2021 or Office 365 Mac - Word 2016–2021 or Office 365 GoogleDocs |
Windows - Word 2010-2021 or Office 365, excluding Word 2010 Starter Edition Mac - Word 2016–2021 or Office 365 LibreOffice - LibreOffice 5.2 or later GoogleDocs |
| Sharing references |
Share a library as read-and-write or read-only with up to 399 people Unlimited number of read-and-write or read-only libraries shared to you |
Free account - create up to 5 groups and share with up to 25 people (100 MB shared across all groups) Bond Institutional Edition - share unlimited groups with up to 100 people |
Share groups or whole projects. |
Share private groups, public closed groups or public open groups. |
| Library Support |
Export results from Library Search Citation from Libkey Nomad |
Export results from Library Search Citation from Libkey Nomad Integration with Resource Lists |
Export results from Library Search Citation from Libkey Nomad Integration with Resource Lists |
Export results from Library Search Citation from Libkey Nomad Integration with Resource Lists |
If you change your mind at a later date, it easy to export your existing citation library to a new reference management system.