Theses & dissertations
What is available?
Theses and dissertations are an important primary source of information on a topic. Universities are providing digitised versions online. Older theses may only be available as a print version. They are considered to be ‘unpublished’ even though many are now accessible online.
The chief source of theses and dissertations in the Library’s collection is Dissertations & Theses Full Text database from ProQuest. This database includes over 2 million citations from around the world primarily North America and Europe.
Most Bond University theses are available from the University’s research repository. From 2004, higher degree research students have been required to provide digitised versions to the Library. Print copies of Bond theses (up until March 2017) are available. They are not for loan and must be used in the Library.
Searching for theses & dissertations
Dissertations & Theses Full Text citations (ProQuest) are included in Library Search results, along with theses held in other libraries or from other sources.
Theses and dissertations will usually show with a content type icon like this:
There are two features in Library Search to help locate theses and dissertations.
Pre-search filter
Before commencing your search, select the Theses prefilter underneath the search box.
Content Type filter
After your search results appear, use the "Content Type" options to refine your search results to show only theses.
Other sources
Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest) can also be searched directly. The link to the database is also available from the Electronic Resources A-Z list.
Bond University theses are also indexed in Library Search, and they can be browsed as a list directly from the University's research portal.