Peer review
Peer reviewed journal articles
A peer-reviewed journal article is not published until it has been reviewed by a panel of other academics or professionals in the field.
The peer-review process ensures published articles are reliable and authoritative sources of information. This is why your lecturers will often request that you use peer-reviewed material.
You can use Library Search to find peer-review articles. Just remember to check the 'Peer-reviewed journals' filter after you've done your search. See the screenshot below for an example:
Library Search
Search for individual articles, books and more.
Most databases have a simple check box or filter that you select to ensure the material your retrieve is peer-reviewed. Some of the key databases that contain peer-review articles are:
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with over 9,000 titles in full text. Covers many subject areas including business and economic, health and medical, criminology, psychology, military, news and world affairs, technology.
- Ebsco Databases This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database specialising in academic journals, magazines and newspapers, many with full text and images.
- Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to research journals covering the social sciences and humanities collection, science and technology collection, medical and fresh collections, expert opinion journals and expert review journals.
Access is available from 1997.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text from journals covering the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Full text access is from 1 January, 1997 to date.